1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Sportback chip experience???

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MushroomMan, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. MushroomMan
    Offline

    MushroomMan Sucemabite

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    Afternoon,

    I've just ordered a new S3 Sportback and would welcome your opinion on chipping.

    I test drove a new S3 a few weeks ago and, to be honest, I was pretty underwhelmed by the grunt.

    I used to own an '02 S3 (stock 220ps) which I had revoed - afterwards it sported 267bhp, 311 lbs/ft torque measured on the rolling road; but the new S3 at 260bhp felt distinctly under powered, especially at the upper ranges. I'm definitely taking the new S3 down the chip shop when it comes... So to my questions...

    What is your experience of chipping the new S3? (nb only interested in stage 1 re-maps, not additional stages as is company car!!)

    Does it distribute power evenly through the gear range, especially at top end? Any power slumps occuring at upper ranges.

    What levels of BHP/torque can one hope to achieve with stage 1?

    Any chippers to be recommended (don't want to cause a fight, but if you're really happy with a supplier that would great to know?) What's the typical cost nowadays?

    How soon should you get the car chipped from new? Do you have to bed the engine in?

    Thanks for any advice you can give us.

    Mushy.

    PS I've currently got an A3 Sportback 2.0T FSI which is chipped, supposedly producing 250ps although I have my doubts.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. jonnyc
    Offline

    jonnyc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    Have a search around for GIAC 'Hammer'

    On the recent Regal Rolling road day Jamiekip made 315hp and I cant remember how much torque with only a re-map..

    Hammer map retains the OEM feel of the car, but adds a serious amount of grunt all the way through the rev range..

    Pretty sure that the S3 SB will be no different to the S3 when it comes to a re-map :)

    Jonny
    #2
  4. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    178
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    Only ever had REVO so cant comment on other tuner software..
    MK4 Golf
    MK5 Golf
    S3 (8P) - Now.

    All brilliant IMO.
    REVO makes the S3 more aggressive but doesnt run out of breath the same as my MK5 Golf did.

    RRP is £500+VAT so its not cheap however there are discounts around depending where you are located. There is a free trial also available.

    Thorougly recommended.

    Cheers
    Paul
    #3
  5. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Oct 13, 2008]
    I can recommend GIAC no end mate - very smooth delivery, like stock but more all through the rev range. The guys at Regal are great too.
    I had the map done after owning the car 18 months as I was starting to get itchy feet looking at new cars, after the map I have a smile back on my face now :)

    [​IMG]

    And a comparison Highwayman did against stock and my car:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    It's worth noting the results for HIghwaymans' car were low as he'd car had just had the map. The ecu takes a good tank of gas to admpat to all the new parameters.


    Have a read of the thread here:

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=61379

    Will PM you in a second too

    J
    #4
  6. MushroomMan
    Offline

    MushroomMan Sucemabite

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    Top response Jamie, cheers for that...
    #5
  7. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    Jamie

    Take it no issues with your car such as the misfire a few people who have had when running the hammer map?

    Has anyone got to the bottom of this yet of why it is occuring?

    Also does the hammer map also retain the OEM Audi map when switching back to standard or is it GIAC's own "standard" version?
    #6
  8. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    #7
  9. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Oct 13, 2008]
    Hey mate.

    Nope my car has not missed a beat since the map - I think it's a minority as a pose to the majority.

    I think the misfire is not actually related to the maps (Andy had the same issue with his after a Bluefin or Revo - can't remember which).
    What the map actually does is make the issure more obvious.

    Blocks and Andys cars were both impacted by a faulty injector I believe.

    Magnus who had problems with his at the Regal rolling road day had some injector cleaner added to his tank by the guys at Regal to see if the issue went, but I've a feeling it will be a faulty injector.

    On blocks he was running checks with VagCom and the misfire was always there, but couldn't be felt, it was just getting logged. It becaome more apparant with the map on as it was having to work harder I'm guessing.

    In the states the injectors are a known problem, not sure if dealers are aware over here though.

    Everyone has had them sorted under warranty.

    With regards GIAC switchable maps.
    They take a copy of your ECU - send it to a database at GIAC and they send back the appropriate upgraded map for your car and you've selected the standard map too, they also send the latest OEM map from Audi for your car. This is the same map that a dealer would flash on to your car if it was needed whenit was next in for service. They do this to try and avoid and dealers flashing over your map with new OEM software.
    So basically when you flash back to standard it is completely OEM and NOT a stock map written by GIAC.

    hope that helps... are you thinking about doing it? :arco:
    J
    #8
  10. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Oct 13, 2008]
    They have one for the TT-S which I believe is the same engine as the facelift S3 so pretty sure they have one.
    Drop the guys at Regal a message mate and get them to qualify it's already done.

    J
    #9
  11. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    I am!

    Just dont want any problems cause I'll kick myself if something goes wrong as it really winds me up when my car does not run right!!

    I may be imagining this but I'm sure someone posted on here that the facelifts have uprated/updated injectors so they should not suffer with the above problems....
    #10
  12. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Oct 13, 2008]
    I'm betting you're right mate - the injector issue is know in most VAG products which I'm guessing the revised engine resolves as well as the known fuel pump issues.

    Famous last words, but I'm sure you'll be fine!

    PM me before you do anything though....
    #11
  13. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 13, 2008]
    Will do!

    We can have a chat this weekend about it!
    #12
  14. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

Share This Page