1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 speed limited to 155 ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by willmac, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. willmac

    willmac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    I note that the speed is limited to 155 mph on all documentation for the new S3. How is this done ? And what do you need to do to be able to disable this ? I know that 155 would be more than quick enough for me but I am just curious.....:confused:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. wesley

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    7
    A remap removes the limiter i think! Certainly did on mine.
     
  4. willmac

    willmac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Wesley,
    Yes i was just curious and thought that may be the case. I note you have a Giac hammer map, I am new to Audi and so am just getting familiar with the various remap options. I note you are up to 330bhp, is that just a 1 stage upgrade ?
     
  5. Splathead

    Splathead Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    59
    Yep, the S3 is electronically limtied to 155mph (always showed as about 170 on the analogue speedo and 168 on the digital speedo on mine).

    It was always a surprise to me how quick the 100 to 155 dash was - I will have to try it again post remap!!
     
  6. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    Just dont do it on the public roads then.
     
  7. beanoir

    beanoir Large Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    27
    unless it's of the German variety....
     
  8. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    I got 179 displayed on my speedo on the autobahn after I bluefinned it.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. beanoir

    beanoir Large Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    27
    :hubbahubba:
     
  10. anton2015

    anton2015 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats like porn ...
     
  11. david_phillips95

    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    three white knuckles hangin on for dear life :laugh:
     
  12. PaulAr

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073
    Likes Received:
    181
    Cool.

    Did you have a GPS device to confirm what the `actual` speed was?

    Paul
     
  13. 10blazin

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3

    I was laughing at this staz very funny i would like to try it me think's , I need an s3
     
  14. MR ANGRY

    MR ANGRY Guest

    Dont mean to be funny, & dont shout me down ( again). I like what i see. However you must be nuts to post anything like that on a forum. I hope for your sake that you were where you said you were. The bizzies have date, time & speed on photo, courtesy of yourself. They only need your mobile number to track your exact location at that exact moment, if it was in this country. Your nicked!
    There are several case histories from you tube in similar circumstances that have resulted prosecution.
    Dont suppose anyone would be that silly though.
     
  15. AuldReekie

    AuldReekie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    ^^^ You missed an important word in his post. This really was the Autobahn. Makes a change I know. Edit to add: Paul he was running three GPS I think, but I can't remember the actual speed; I am sure Staz will fill in the blank in a bit. He also has a vid on YT of this run.
     
    #14 AuldReekie, Jan 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  16. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    There's a slight flaw to your group of evidence. Who says his mobile was in his pocket at the time? Who says it's him driving? Who says it's his car in the photo?

    So if I post this photo, am I at risk of being prosecuted for doing 200mph in my Corvette?

    [​IMG]
     
  17. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    Yup...no corvette ever did 200....Call the fraud squad !
     
  18. Splathead

    Splathead Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    59
    Of course not.. :sly:
     
  19. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    This is the best i could manage..
    155 at 2000rpm in cruise :)
    [​IMG]

    and its still showing 36mpg !
     
  20. S.

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    280
    they have limit on 155??? didn't know that. i did with mine way over that and only mod at the time was forge CAI. maybe my car is a big fat liar!
     
  21. beanoir

    beanoir Large Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    27

    Now that would be ballsy on an A-road!! haha
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. gaz_aot

    gaz_aot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    hands cooly placed at the bottom of the steering wheel:busted_cop:
     
  24. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    Actually..hands cooly holding the camera. Knees holding the steering wheel....:w00t:
     
  25. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Despite their claims, Audi's limiters are not at 155mph. Not on standard S3s or RS6s anyway.

    (I'm talking about actual speed too, not displayed speed)
     
  26. beanoir

    beanoir Large Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    27
    When you buy a new RS car from Audi you can opt to have the limiter increased to 174mph by them these days I believe...
     
  27. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    This was one of the first RS6s and was only a few weeks old with no mods, don't know if they offered the higher limiter back then, but if they did, they were still getting it wrong. ;)
     
  28. willmac

    willmac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't wait to change up to the S3....... I'd forgotten how much fun and banter a performance car can bring looking at these posts ! I am afraid the 2.0 TDi , as good a car as it is, does not evoke the same passions.

    Hope to be able to get that needle dancing in the red zone on the Autobahn very soon :)
     
  29. HotboxDeluxe

    HotboxDeluxe automatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    5
    ZR1 :salute:
     
  30. consilio

    consilio Up the owls!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ive had mine up to 165Mph, and it has not been chipped. Not quite sure why that would be the case as the limiter should have kicked in
     
  31. HotboxDeluxe

    HotboxDeluxe automatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    5
    Combination of a generous limiter and a generous speedo? Mine goes up to 165 too :laugh: totally different car, but supposedly limited to 155 as well
     
  32. dc240969

    dc240969 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    1
    Audi salesman told me the exact thing.
     
  33. beanoir

    beanoir Large Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    27

    Everybody knows RWD cars have really inaccurate speedos... ;)
     
  34. HotboxDeluxe

    HotboxDeluxe automatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just like everybody "knows" that they're **** in the wet :p
     
  35. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    Sorry for the late reply guys, I have been a little busy. Yes Mr Angry the video was actually captured on the autobahn. You can see that it is from the video:



    I also had a Garmin Streetpilot 330c which displayed 168mph and a Garmin eTrek H GPS which said 165mph.
     
    #33 Staz, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
  36. HotboxDeluxe

    HotboxDeluxe automatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    5
    You irresponsible git, someone could die* :laugh:

    :eyebrows:

    *everyone does, eventually
     
  37. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,249
    Likes Received:
    2,373
    Loving the "COME ON, GET TO 180 YOU BARSTEWARD" bit! :)
     
  38. beanoir

    beanoir Large Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    27
    Staz, my heart was pounding just watching that video!
     
  39. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    It was stable as anything. Yeah I had to concentrate on the tiniest steering adjustment but the car felt totally planted [​IMG]
     
  40. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Surprising how stable they feel at high speeds, isn't it?

    One of my favourite images:

    [​IMG]
     
    #38 mitch78, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  41. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    I did top speed runs in my 2.0TQ and my CTR before that and both felt a bit dodgy above 140. In the S3 you can't even tell how fast you're going. I've been above 150 many-a-time with my misus in the car and she never bats an eyelid!
     
  42. S3EDDIE

    S3EDDIE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen one doing 302kph (187mph) on the net, must be a true 170+ then. I thought the speedo would be miles out at that speed its less than 10% (6.1%) The 302 vid shows it revving past 7k, what is the actual top speed on the limiter does anyone know? Also would a Revo map (1,2, or 2+) raise the standard rev limit at all?
     

Share This Page