1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 service book and start/stop

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by geefunk1978, Dec 13, 2013.

  1. geefunk1978
    Offline

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    372
    For those of us lucky enough to already have our S3's I have a couple of queries.
    I didn't get a service book to stamp in? Dealer said it's all done digitally now, anyone else not got a book?
    My start/stop hasn't worked once since I had the car, now should I be worried something is wrong or not? I turned everything that uses power off (mmi, climate etc) and it still wouldn't work! I've an s tronic by the way. Any ideas people?!
    Cheers
    G
    #1
  2. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    343
    #2
  3. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    The Stop start worked fine in the S Tronic I had yesterday!
    #3
  4. pat15312
    Offline

    pat15312 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    121
    Start stop was on by default when I got mine. Might be worth checking the menus under Car to see if there is an option to permanently turn it off.
    #4
  5. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    294
    If anyone can confirm if this is possible that would be a great help, it's a total pain in the ass trying to remember to manually turn it off everytime i get in the car!
    #5
  6. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    343
    Lets not hijack 'G's' post with questions about whether the start/stop can permanently be disabled when it probably can't be..
    #6
  7. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    294
    Your post would hold more weight had it ended in "when it definitely can't be" It in fact may well be the reason G's start / stop is not working if it has somehow been turned off through the MMI..Just sayin'
    #7
    RedDejavu and PilotAudi like this.
  8. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    343
    The best thing to do is to search the 8v forum first before asking. I am sure this question has been covered before. If it hasn't then start a new thread as then it will get more attention instead of being buried within someone else's...
    #8
  9. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    294
    Searched a few days ago and couldn't find an answer on it..I know you have got OCD about these things, but i felt it could have helped / related to geefunk's query..
    #9
  10. steeve
    Offline

    steeve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    209
    There is still a service book, it doesnt have spaces for stamps as that is done digitally, but you should have the standard Audi book.

    It's called " Audi Service Schedule" "For vehicles with Digital Service Schedule"
    number is 141.563.8S2.20

    As far as stop start, make sure it's enabled first then it will only work when all the parameters are met. My A3 was intially reluctant, but as the miles have accrued it works more often. Your handbook lists all the criteria.
    I
    #10
  11. Battlekrapz
    Offline

    Battlekrapz Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    236
    You lucky sod if your start/stop is malfunctioning! I wish mine was!
    #11
    DrTS and Johnnyb like this.
  12. steeve
    Offline

    steeve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    209
    You can switch it off.
    #12
  13. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    294
    Permanently? There is a switch below the air vents that switches it off once the car starts, but then it resets everytime you turn the ignition off, so have to keep turning it off everytime the ignition is turned on..If there is a way to disable it through the MMI or something then that would be great and would possibly be why geefunk has yet to see it working in his car..
    #13
  14. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    564
    I don't think anyone has yet come up with a way to permanently switch off the Start/Stop system even using VCDS. The dealers will not do it, even if the can, because they say it would mean the car would no longer match it's EU Type Approval and the car would then be illegal to drive on UK roads.

    The Golf VII DSG that I drove for the day yesterday needed quite a bit more pressure on the brake pedal to get the engine to cut out that on my current s-tronic A3. I was easy to stop at a junction and hold the car on the brake without the engine cutting out.
    #14
  15. jet_andy
    Offline

    jet_andy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    28
    It cannot be permanently disabled by the driver and as previously stated the dealer's won't even if they could. If it were permanently disabled the cars CO2 rating would be invalid and therefore it's tax rating.
    #15
  16. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    294
    Thanks for the clarification! geefunk - i'd give the dealer a call, although i'd be happy with it off just like Battlekrapz! I'm off to invent a rigid device that attaches to one's left shoulder so that when you get in the car it presses the disable button for you...
    #16
    GRE57Y likes this.
  17. geefunk1978
    Offline

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hmm I've got that service book so that's definitely right if it's all digital nowadays.
    As for start/stop it's activated but always comes up with an A with a slash thro it on the display when I stop. Might have to ring the dealer to see what they say, it'd be nice to know it works tho! Might save me some fuel as it's averaging 22mpg at the mo on my daily commute, but then again it is only 2.5miles to work lol
    #17
  18. Daggerit
    Offline

    Daggerit Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    81
    Not an S3 but I know that my car has to be warm and all sorts before the stop start will work. In addition things like having the steering turned near the stops seems to stop it turning off too...
    #18
  19. GNJ_Motorsport
    Offline

    GNJ_Motorsport Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    178
    I'll be doing all I can to find a way of turning this **** off with VCDS when ours comes so if/when we find out I'll put a tutorial up!
    #19
  20. CraigI
    Offline

    CraigI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    316
    500 miles in and my start/stop has been working well (if that's how you consider it) since day one.
    #20
  21. Dylock
    Offline

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    63
    I find the start/stop works perfectly and I like it. With my s3 stronic I find that I'm the one controlling it not the other way around. Ie come to a stop with a light peddle press and car is still running. Push it harder and the engine stops. So it stops when I want. I don't have hill hold and from what ive read that changed things.

    If your journey to work is only 2.5 miles I would not expect it to work. Have you tried a longer journey and then to be sure turn all heaters ect off?
    #21
  22. geefunk1978
    Offline

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yeah it's had a few long journey's too and I tried turning everything off and still didn't work. Very odd as no one else seems to have any problems!
    #22
  23. Lock & Load
    Offline

    Lock & Load Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    See if you can reset your ECU this may restart the stop / start function
    #23
  24. geefunk1978
    Offline

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    372
    That will have to be a main dealer job won't it?
    #24
  25. Lock & Load
    Offline

    Lock & Load Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    No not really some one in the Audi community should know how to reset the Ecu
    #25
  26. Scotty2011
    Offline

    Scotty2011 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    48
    The start/stop doesn't work properly until the engine is up to a certain temperature and the temperature inside that car is at what you have set it. So if you crank up the temp in the car it will stop working until it reaches that temp inside. Hope that makes sense.
    #26
  27. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    343
    Start/stop systems use various sensors to dictate how the system performs. Internal/external temp, CC settings/ engine temp and the battery voltage. Start/stop systems also tend to have a different battery and alternators to cars that do not have the same system. I've had mine start the engine up automatically when the cabin temp started to rise, however it has stopped working completely now as I only perform short journey's and the battery voltage isn't high enough. This is on my Focus of course so I am interested to see how the system works when I get my new Audi...
    #27
  28. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    154
    Start/stop won't work until the car is warm and that has been posted earlier. It would explain the lack of start/stop on your commute.

    Separately, lots of short journeys in a row will hit the battery and one of the (several) other criteria for Start/Stop is a charged battery. Perhaps the battery is still charging on the longer journeys?

    John.
    #28
  29. geefunk1978
    Offline

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    372
    It hasn't worked since I picked the car up and that journey home was 90 miles and I had to stop at traffic lights/roundabouts so doesn't make any sense. I think there must be a fault on it. Will ring dealers and find out...
    #29

Share This Page