1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Sat-nav option!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by eugegall, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. eugegall
    Offline

    eugegall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Again,

    Could someone give me some info on what this sat-nav actually does please! aparently it does everything but open your drinks!

    Before i buy my S3 id like to know if its worth the extra or not!

    euge
    #1
  2. wesley
    Offline

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    I take it your talking about the RNS-E?
    #2
  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Just retro the rns-e after purchase fella as audi charge what 2k where as fitting after purchase is like £550 if you already have the double din setup, if not then it'll be about £700 with extra parts, but saves a shed load over the stealer price.
    #3
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    NHN is in the process of linking it to his cruise control, steering & parking sensors so that he doesnt need a taxi to get home from the pub.
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    lol, lol, brilliant, lol

    Its called Park Assist Plusnet Twin Cam Doggy Biscuit
    #5
  6. eugegall
    Offline

    eugegall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well Iv seen an S3 that already has it. i just would like to know what it does! apart from the obvious!
    #6
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Sat Nav
    CD
    SD card slots x 2 for MP3
    Telephone when linked with bluetooth module or fixed telephone adapter
    Auxilary for say video etc
    TV
    SDS speech dialogue system when used with the multifunction steering wheel
    Name directory linked to sat nav directions(I believe)
    Radio

    Probably loads I've missed but thats the main ones.
    #7
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Apart from the obvious satnav:

    it plays music CD (at expense of the SatNav)

    plays MP3's via two SD card slots behind the screen so you can use the SatNav plus listen to your choice of music.

    Radio


    Extras:

    you can connect an interface to it giving you a composite and stereo input so you cna connect it to a TV tuner or DVD player.

    Can be linked to an Audi Bluetooth adaptor so you can use it to control your phone.

    TMPS for those pesky roadworks

    There is also a mod to link it to a rear view camera that activates when you put car into reverse.
    #8
  9. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    Live traffic info showing closed roads,accidents and congestion etc. Auto re routes you round this.

    It is part of the nav function but has its own screen.
    #9
  10. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    174
    I want RNS-E.:aggressive:
    Must have mod for me after Santa has been.

    Then that will be me done, REVO and Nav, all I need and want.
    Well maybe CAI...possibly.:shutup2:

    Paul
    #10
  11. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is it a Yellow one not too far from you with a nice selection of toys on it?

    If so I nearly bought that a couple of weeks ago.
    #11
  12. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you spec the pro Sat Nav what comes as standard? I assume the TV function etc is extra?

    Got a TV in the M3 but i could happily live without it. Need the Sat Nav though!
    #12
  13. hardcore Hallam
    Offline

    hardcore Hallam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    3
    Only thing that disappoints me about the RNS-E, is the lack of full post code input. You can only put in half the post code, then you have to search for the road name. When you ask people for an address to put in your Sat Nav, 9 times out of 10, they just give you a post code and door number.
    #13
  14. Chimp
    Offline

    Chimp Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    20
    And it misses IPOD control with ID tags
    #14
  15. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    we obviously don't know any of the same people. I wouldn't know anybody who would offer up just a postcode and house number if asked for their address.
    #15
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Well I have to agree with Hallam Marc, alot of people I deal with just ask me for postcode & house name/number, I also mostly just give that out to people as most have net access or sat nav so tends to work 99% of the time

    (all suspension now on, not 100% convinced was best route)
    #16
  17. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    horses for courses I guess - I'd still rather know the street name even if the postcode was offered too.
    #17
  18. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    174
    I live at number 9.:)
    #18
  19. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Has anyone had a go at fitting the chrome knobs to an 8P nav unit?
    #19
  20. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    yeah, I got mine done. the only thing is that the knobs that are listed in ETKA are for the RNS-Low so don't quite fit out of the box. you need to modify the top one inside quite heavily and then the whole front needs to come off to remove the bottom one.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #20
  21. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, how did you get google maps on there?
    #21
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    lol, visual trickery with a cellphone, lol
    #22
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Stu also check my posts added about the led's shining through when new lower knob fitted, the mod I did which is fairly easy on top of Marc's write up does benefit as the led's are fairly bright & for me bloody annoying shining through the outside of the knob, but after as oem.

    Its a **** for the upper one as Marc rightly says, dremel time to take out almost all the insides, I did also post info on this on Marc's thread I think which involved a washer & epoxy to glue it in place & it works 100% perfectly

    & the postcode smart arse, lol, lol
    #23
  24. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, hears me thinking it could be done! I like little additions you can make to factory setups!

    Like my 'M' logo with the nurburgring track that comes up on my screen when i open the doors!

    Photoshoppery then is it?:sign_unfair:
    #24
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    no just used the video-in on rns I think hey Marc, from your Iphone or Nokia cant remember which.

    so this M logo was already part of car or you can set this yourself or did you upload a different image via firmware upgrade, interesting to know this.
    #25
  26. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    #26
  27. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30

    Never knew that could be done, I just have the Audi MMI.
    #27
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    well on his bmw yes he did, but you know the s3 logo can be done on the 8p dont you?

    RNS adaptation 18 set to a 1.
    #28
  29. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have mine displaying the S3 one... just because I think the standard MMI one looks a little dull
    #29
  30. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks guys.
    #30
  31. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ah, a BMW!

    yes I know, but I dont have an S3 lol. Happy enough with Audi MMI for the time being. Maybe I can try to force some of the set up files through a program that tries to re-construct images (if such a thing exists for PC, IIRC had one for my old Archimedes)
    #31
  32. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    don't believe that's possible - otherwise somebody would surely have done it by now
    #32
  33. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    neither do I but feck it looks better than MMI, I kept thinking the greenish colour on startup of the MMI screen was a screen fault, lol, until I changed it that is to S3, complained like **** to the seller, then ran away into corner with tail between my legs, but it does look like an lcd fault, well to me, lol, lol

    the logo can be changed just have to figure out how, if audi can do we can do, lol, I'll leave that one to Khufu to figure out today as my hands hurt
    #33
  34. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    he smiled when they it couldn't be done, he laughed and said he knew, but when he tried the thing that couldn't be done he found he couldn't do it...

    I didnt think it would be that simple or somebody far more clever than me on navplus would have it sussed LOL
    #34
  35. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    lol, navplus also known as audiforum
    #35
  36. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    only problem is they've set a redirect on navplus to point to audiforum but have not updated any of the links in the old navplus forums so all the stickys are pointing to dead ends!
    #36
  37. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    seen that too, think a few of the links are broken or the database has lost them.


    edit: ah, you've noticed too.
    #37
  38. royjk
    Offline

    royjk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't think full postcode search is the fault of the RNS-E but the software.
    #38
  39. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Just so you all know guys, in Germany the RNS uses full postcodes. But the postcodes are 5 digit numbers here and they cover a very large area. I think in the whole of Osnabruck there are only about 10-20. My misus moved from one flat to another within the town centre ring road but about a half a mile apart and kept the same postcode. I'm not suprised that the Germans decided to not use full postcodes in the UK, it'd be extra work for 1 country.

    I wouldn't be suprised if it's only the UK that has very specific postcodes.
    #39
  40. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    The standard is just a BMW logo

    I had to upload new firmware with a different 'splash' image. There were instructions on the M3 forum but someone did it for me so all i had to do was insert the disk!

    I've seen S3 ones on some S3's (funnily enough!) so assumed it was standard on them?

    I assume the Video in is just that? Where did you get the lead from to do it? Useful for reading texts on the move i guess!! oops that illegal!:whistle2:
    #40

Share This Page