1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Sat Nav Antenna

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by _a3sport, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. _a3sport
    Offline

    _a3sport Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 18, 2014]
    I just bought an S3 which didn't come with Sat nav. I'm presuming the fin at the rear of the roof is the Sat Nav antenna? Fitted my RNSE the other day and couldn't any feed from the antenna behind the stereo. Anyone know if the antenna feed is there somewhere? Just wired in a Sat Nav puck for now.

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 20, 2014]

  3. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Aug 18, 2014]
    The fin at the rear can be either sat nav, phone or both depending on spec. No nav means no gps in shark fin or wiring unfortunately
    #2
  4. _a3sport
    Offline

    _a3sport Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 19, 2014]
    Cheers, saves me raking around for a cable that ain't there!!
    #3
  5. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Aug 19, 2014]
    All you need to do is buy a new Antenna and plug it into the unit, mount it somewhere suitable and bobs yer uncle.
    #4
  6. 3.2 Ju
    Offline

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Aug 19, 2014]
    The hockey puck should work ok but you can if you want buy the correct sharkfin and extension cable and run it all in OEM style.
    #5
  7. _a3sport
    Offline

    _a3sport Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 19, 2014]
    Hockey puck has been reasonable enough had it in my old a3. If the oem cable was there I would have used it as no doubt a bit more accurate on the roof. But not worth spending cash for a little more accuracy.
    #6

Share This Page