1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 rev hang-up

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3DCT, Oct 18, 2003.

1. S3DCT

S3DCT New Member

[Oct 18, 2003]
    Problem : Accelerate briskly, change up 1st to 2nd, revs hang or increase! 2nd to 3rd revs hang or increase again, same 3rd to 4th, and this is with full lift-off the loud pedal! Makes you feel like a learner but I've been scorching around in cars and on bikes for 40 years,
    don't label me an old f*rt, look at the ages of the best sports/endurance racers (age, not size, of the b*lls counts).
    Back to the issue : the only way to stop the motor reving on as you change up is to take a full second for each gear change to allow the revs to drop a little, defeating the object of a brisk car.
    My local dealer claims 'they all do that sir to keep the turbo spinning'. Well the few I tried before buying didn't, nor did mine 'til the last service.
    When I'm a biker and I ease the throttle a bit to sync the revs on an up change I expect (and get!) the engine to respond.
    Is my S3, Jan'01, a freak? or do any of you guys also suffer this problem?
  2. Ads

Ads

[Dec 22, 2014]

3. mramage

mramage Member

[Oct 19, 2003]

Erm, that does't sound right. The revs certainly drop off on mine between changes. Get the dealer to take you out in another car or get a tech to come out with you and demonstrate the problem. Don't let them off with it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I had a car that used to do that and it got the lambda sensor changed. Not saying it's that, but it certainly doesn't sound right.

Your car wouldn't be purple by any chance? Sure I saw a purple S3 with a similar reg the other day, meant to post on spotters forum.
  4. MarkS3

MarkS3 Member

[Oct 19, 2003]