1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 problems 2200 miles in!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Kontraband, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    So, yesterday I get in the car, fire it up and drive. About 2 mins into the drive, the stereo, with ipod in, turns off and the doors unlock. 5 seconds later the stereo starts back up and doors lock again. I continue my drive, no other issues except this one repeating about 3 or 4 times before finally not picking up the ipod and just going to radio... then ... after a couple more restarts it stays on fine.


    I know the answer, anyone care to have a stab tho? :whistle2:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    Sounds like a faulty ignition barrell or a short in the system. It is almost as if the car thinks the key has been removed and the accessories turn off and the doors unlock. Then when it corrects itself the accessories turn back on and the doors lock as you are over 12mph.

    Presumably the engine doesn't cut out though.
    #2
  4. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    Bloody hell Marc your good!

    ;)

    Needs a new ignition and accelerator sensor as its exactly as you said.... going in tomorrow. Not sure why it needs the accel sensor, but thats whats been done. They were pretty keen to get it in as soon as they could too...
    #3
  5. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    I try my best!

    The giveaway was the door unlocking and locking.

    How long did it take them to diagnose it?
    #4
  6. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    not long to be fair. The guy drove it into the service dock, and came out the otherside about 15 mins later.

    They said they were going to check the key for errors, so I assume that pointed them in the right direction?
    #5
  7. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    I suppose their VAS computer thingy probably picked up the errors anyway.

    You were lucky the engine didn't cut out while you were driving - that wouldn't have been a pleasant experience!
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    yeah probably multi codes on 5052.

    kinda worrying the barrel went on a newish car of all things, hope thats not the start of many huh.
    #7
  9. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    yeah, thats my thoughts exactly... hope its the only problem I have!
    #8
  10. golf
    Offline

    golf ***** rent boy VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 4, 2008]
    I've had the engine cut out on a Vauxhall Vectra I was driving on the M23 a few years back. It was late at night and the motorway was fairly quiet, but it scared the **** out of me still!
    #9
  11. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 4, 2008]
    I had a engaine cut out on one of the main roundabouts you get at the end of motorway slip roads.

    midday saturday , packed out , waiting in traffic on a incline , no power , turned it over , still nothing , put my hazzards on , no power.

    There iam stuck there , no hazzards ,tailback behind me,fcukers beeping , i got out had a look in the engaine bay , checked tha battery which had come loose...sorted.

    Not nice though.

    The car was a Pug GTI 6 :)

    p
    #10
  12. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Jul 4, 2008]
    Years ago my Girlfriends VW Lupo had an ABS moment, ie, hit the brakes hard when someone cut in to a small gap in front of me, lifted pressure off the brake pedal and the bl00dy brakes stayed on like a vice. I had cars making evasive manouvers either side of me! Not nice!
    Turned the car off, then back on and all was reset.
    The car was only 4 weeks old so went straight back to VW.
    Garage couldn't replicate it, but my girlfriend didn't want it back.
    They sent engineers over from Germany eventually to check it and traced it back to a supplier fault on a batch of sensors - Received a very apologetic letter from Germany as well as free servicing on the car whilst she had it and a bunch of flowers for the missus.
    Best bit was they gave her a Lupo GTi to run around in whilst they had her's.... now that thing was fun even if my 6'2" made me look like noddy behind the wheel!!!

    Scary moment though, god knows how it didn't cause a serious accident.
    #11
  13. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 4, 2008]
    scary stuff.

    well, its all back. Took them the entire day to do and when I turned up 45 mins early the passenger seat was out the car!

    Report reads:
    Road tested vehicle and checked fault memory via guided fault finding, found faults stored for ignition Switch and Acceleration sender. Confirmed both items failed due to internal electrical failures. Supplied and fitted both ignition switch and acceleration sender as required.

    Also reported the window clicking problem talked about in another thread. That now needs a new part (door control unit) so its got to go back in next week.
    #12
  14. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Jul 4, 2008]
    Sheeeeesh that's bad luck!
    Mine's just had it's first service. I reported that the ECU light occassionaly stayed on and it went in to limp mode on it's first start after sitting for a while. Second turn of the key it was fine. Anyway, no faults logged when they checked so hopefully it just needed the service so will be fine now.
    #13
  15. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 4, 2008]
    yeah, like I said to the lass in the service dept, I hope it wasnt the start of a relationship, not that I didnt like her, but I wasnt keen on seeing her again anytime soon after the next fix! ;)
    #14
  16. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Jul 4, 2008]
    My old S3 broke down in Denmark a couple fo years back. Got to an Audi delaer out there, they couldn't have been more helpful (but Audi's are REALLY expensive over there!!). Anyway, the lady on reception was soooooo fit! Your typical nordic, blonde, tall, slim, great bristols...... told them to take as long as they wanted with my car!
    #15
  17. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 5, 2008]
    ahahahahah I bet you did!!!
    #16
  18. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 10, 2008]
    Little update on this.

    Took the car in today for the door control module. Have just had a call back now from Gilders saying that theres just been an update released this morning *was secretly laffing to myself* saying that the software needs updating rather than changing the door control module.

    When I dropped my car off, I told them the glovebox wasnt closing very well, and could they check it. Apparently its 'malformed'!! So, this was either done when they changed the other parts, or I just havent really noticed before. Anyway, they now need the parts as they arent in stock so ITS ANOTHER FRICKING VISIT.

    I have an A4 Avant 2.0 SE TDi on loan from them... its like driving a sofa. :sob:
    #17
  19. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 10, 2008]
    If your Glovey is anything like mine, you have to reach over and push it up from the middle, otherwise it doesnt close properly on the left hand latch...

    I dont mind it too much, i just slam the bugger, then it shuts :)

    Also still got this annoying rattle on the right hand side by the light switches..

    Grrr

    Im off to look at beemers this aft ... :)
    #18
  20. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 10, 2008]
    Yeah, it did need a big slam. TBH I was thinking they were going to tell me its normal.

    Clearly not...
    #19
  21. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jul 10, 2008]
    i see they have gone cheap and not put a lock on my A3, is this the same on all the current range?
    #20
  22. jamiekip
    Offline

    jamiekip Guest

    [Jul 10, 2008]
    My glove box often won't shut easily due to the wire on my phone charger blocking the hinge a little..... could it be something as daft as that????
    I'm assuming they checked..... though you never do know eh :think:

    L60N - BMW's eh... you thinking of changing already? Or just out blagging some test drives?
    #21
  23. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 10, 2008]
    I think the latter at this stage Jamie.

    Although i did send a letter to J Hicks this afternoon regarding an issue with my seats which is STILL unresolved after months . I'll post a thread on that when i get a response :)
    #22
  24. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 10, 2008]
    Jamie, Theres nowt blocking the closure of the glovebox... theres only my ipod in it. (which leads nicely on to my next point)

    Khufu, yeah they have gone tight and not put a lock on... the new A3 cab has the lock, not sure about the A3 facelift range in total tho... why they encourage you to load your glovebox with ipods/cd's and then leave it unlocked I have NO IDEA!

    L6ON, I love the beemers, and miss mine... I think I'll be going back after this but I dont want to turn this thread into another audi to BM one! ;)
    #23
  25. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 10, 2008]
    and, its not all doom and gloom..

    It seems the software update they did today means I dont need vag com to change any settings now iI have RNS-E.

    The update has added the DIS in. :)

    Although.... saying that... I never checked the compass setting on the DIS when I installed it so maybe this was there all the time...
    [​IMG]

    I noticed too that the A4 Avant I had showed the bluetooth icon on it... which mine doesnt.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    #24
  26. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 10, 2008]
    You might find that they spotted the errors when they hooked the computer up and adjusted to coding accordingly.

    I wonder if the BT logo is related to newer firmware on the A4 unit. Have you applied SW0650 yet?
    #25
  27. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 10, 2008]
    Not applied it yet no... is it worth doing before the re-wire?

    If they did spot the errors and adjusted then 'kudos' to them as going on what everyone else had said about retro fitting it, the dealers just wouldnt ever notice an issue unless specifically looking for it,..
    #26
  28. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    It's always nice to have the latest firmware running, but not essential.

    You can do it before the rewire.

    Did I send you the link for the SDS hacked SW0650?
    #27
  29. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    yeah, you did... its on disc... in my bag, so I could do it today... its got to go back to Audi tho today too... pic to follow! :banghead:

    My RNS-E is a Q... what version does that come with??
    #28
  30. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 11, 2008]
    Should be 0650 mate, theres an option to see what version your running in the settings tab whilst in NAV. Or it might be that you press "info" whilst in NAV..

    AFAIK the Q model is non SDS..
    #29
  31. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    so if its already 0506 is there 2 variations of that sw?

    also.... this is how I got my car back from Audi yesterday, noticed it this morning when it started raining. If it starts raining now, Im stuck at work so it will be a call to Audi Breakdown!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #30
  32. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    This disc I've sent you is a copy of the SW0650 software hacked to enable SDS on the RNS-e. Your unit didn't ship with SDS enabled by the factory so this disc enables you to do it yourself.

    You may already have SW0650 on your unit. To check press the CAR button and under the "Version" menu it will list SW, HW and Map versions.

    If your unit is already at 0650 then you can do a VAGCOM modification to allow you to "downgrade" the software. By default this is turned off so that inserting an older disc into your unit won't roll back the firmware. Enabling the downgrade will force the unit to apply whatever software is on the next disc that you insert - even if it is the same version (or lower). Once the update has applied the setting reverts back to the default.

    I could have set the SW version on the disc to a higher value than 0650 (i.e. 0651 or 0660) which would have forced the update without the need for VAGCOM coding, but for my own unit I preferred to have the SW version showing the actual version.

    If you don't have VAGCOM and want to force the update then you can modify the INDEX.TXT file in the root of your update disc to give it a higher SW version.

    Open the file and change the first line from SOFIDX:0650 to SOFIDX:0660 and burn it to another disc.

    If your car has a SW version lower than 0650 then you can just insert the disc without any VAGCOM coding or modifying the text file.
    #31
  33. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    179
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    Back on topic a bit
    Might book a visit to AUDI soon.

    -Worn door seal (nearly holed), interference fit with door close.
    -Glove box lid needs a tug to open after its unlatched. `Soft open` a bit too soft.
    -Erratic sunroof closure from key fob. (must be female)

    57 Plate 7K Miles
    Nothing major. Just not right.
    Not enough to buy a Laguna diesel at least.

    anyone had these probs?
    Cheers
    Paul
    #32
  34. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    My old A3 had haunted sunroof, would open at random!
    #33
  35. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    179
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    Its opens and cloese ok from the roof switch.

    Just doesnt always close from the fob?

    cheers
    Paul
    #34
  36. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    Mine is exactly the same Paul - and was on my old A3. Clearly an Audi trait.
    #35
  37. bacardi
    Offline

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 11, 2008]
    I've had the glove box one, now totally bust so just kinda flops down

    The door seal on mine would be very different being a sportback but there is a tear at the top where it closes against the B pillar if that helps
    #36
  38. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2008]
    Theres clearly some issue with some glove boxes. Get em replaced. :)
    .

    Marc, cheers for the info fella. Will check that out


    Got a TT-S for when the glove box goes in... will have a nice drive in that down to Brum and back.
    #37

Share This Page