1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 not getting to normal temperature.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by James333, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. James333
    Offline

    James333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 30, 2008]
    hey all, as the title says. Could this be my thermostat? My temp guage is getting to the dash just before the middle/normal temp position, I am experiencing poor economy too, could the ecu be thinking its still on warm up and changing fueling to suit?
    I have a new green top sensor fitted so dont think its that. Cheers now, James
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 21, 2014]

  3. FazS3
    Offline

    FazS3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 30, 2008]
    Thermostat or temp sender mate!
    #2
  4. James333
    Offline

    James333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 30, 2008]
    I think i'll order on from vagparts (thermostat) there is however a new one on ebay for about £8 delivered, will it be junk? thanks
    #3
  5. FazS3
    Offline

    FazS3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 30, 2008]
    Get it from audi.Dont go for the cheap stuff its not really very expensive from audi anyway, temp sender roughly £30 thermo £18 i think
    #4
  6. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    Guys, whilst it's fresh in my mind (having just returned from Audi RE a new keyfob..), how easy is it to fit a thermostat yourself?!

    Ive started to notice that temp' guage isn't where it should be.

    This image was taken 30 minutes into a ride through to Leicester last weekend:

    [​IMG]

    I did some testing this afternoon, leave it stationary, ticking over and sure, it rises to 85+ (which is where it should be, right?)

    Can you confirm for me that it should be ~90 when fully warmed up and not fluctuating between 60 and 70?!

    I believe it IS the thermostat thats gone, but what side effects is this currently giving me?! Running rich? Loss in performance?

    any help much appreciated.
    Jim
    #5
  7. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Daddy

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    I get the same issue and have just has the temp sensor changed to rule it out.I haven't noticed any difference yet though.

    I wonder if it's purely to do with the really cold weather as it regularly does this in the winter buit never the summer. I've also noticed that if you have the heater on economy (i.e. taking heat from the engine to warm the car) it runs even cooler, at about 80c.

    I've recently had the car serviced at Awesome and they reckoned it was either the temp sensor or thermostat. Thermostat is a bigger job though apparently.
    #6
  8. FazS3
    Offline

    FazS3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    http://forums.audiworld.com/tt/msgs/1304805.phtml

    Check that out fella
    #7
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    If it rises when stationary then it's definately the thermostat stuck open or at least part open. But it should reach bang on 90 and stay there no matter what the weather.
    #8
  10. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    mine does this too! I've had a new thermostat for a year now, and not got around to fitting it!

    I've looked several times, but it looks almost impossible to me to get to the bolts, so I've always left it.
    #9
  11. James333
    Offline

    James333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    Whos going to be first to brave it!? Im going to pick one up tomorrow. There is a few good walkthrough guides that I have looked at, its recomnended that a new dipstick tube is bought too as it will 98% of the time snap as it gets so brittle, I got one on saturday as mine was already broken anyway, about £3 from audi.

    Strangely too, Vag Parts is more expensive for the thermostat than audi.
    #10
  12. TeemuM
    Offline

    TeemuM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 2, 2008]
    I changed thermostat last weekend. It is quite hard to unbolt that lower thermostat housing bolt but other than that it´s very straightforward. I used very small ratchet to open those bolts. That manual that was posted few post earlier was very helpful.

    Now my temperature is normal 90 degrees all the time.
    #11
  13. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Dec 2, 2008]
    Have you seen any difference in performance/economy/driveability?!!

    I think I'm going to have to book mine in at Audi. Any ideas of the prices they charge?!!
    #12
  14. Imteyaz
    Online

    Imteyaz 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 2, 2008]
    I too changed my thermostat last weekend as the temp would only just reach 90deg in standing traffic and shift down to 80-85 when on the move.

    Yes, the bottom bolt is a pain to get too but it is possible. The temp on my car (A3 1.8T) stays dead on 90 deg now. I found mpg has shifted from 24mpg to 26mpg.

    If it helps, I used the guide (from Vortex) and also found that it helps to remove the cabling from the back of the alternator (1x 8mm bolt for cable clip, 1x 13mm nut for thick power cable, unplug black plug) to give you a little more clearance. I did order a new dipstick tube, good thing too as that was the first thing that broke despite trying to be careful! The car definately warms up a lot quicker and the heating is much better too. For 12 squids (dealer price for thermostat) and 1.5hrs work it's well worth it in this weather.
    #13
  15. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 2, 2008]
    Why would you take it to Audi?
    Find a VAG specialist and save at least 50%.
    Audi will charge £90+ per hour so probably £180 in labour alone.
    #14
  16. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Dec 2, 2008]
    This is true. Only reason I suggested it is as I'm there already on Thursday/Friday to have a new keyfob programmed to the car.

    It would make sense to have a go myself, I'm sure we have all the tools to do the job, but it's a time factor. Yes, I'm off this week, but I've got a few jobs booked in that need chasing up.

    If I brought the Thermo from the Dealer and took it to my local, they'd be happy enough to fit it for me?!
    #15
  17. Id
    Offline

    Id Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 2, 2008]
    Mine was doing that, changed the temp sender to green top, still doing it. Have a tstat, just haven't got around to it yet. Still getting 28-30mpg so must drive like a grandma
    #16
  18. edward_harris
    Offline

    edward_harris s3 gone now a shiney red evo 6

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 2, 2008]
    your temp should always be at 90, i had to change mine in the s3 took about an hour. like its been said its just the bottom bolt thats a pain to get to! apart from that really easy!
    #17
  19. cornish_a3_turbo
    Offline

    cornish_a3_turbo Guest

    [Dec 3, 2008]
    hi guys.
    just to let you know, i changed mine.....and it was the water pump!

    the plastic parts inside perish, so i had the cam belt done too.

    i too changed the temp sender, then the thermostat, thoughtt they was faulty, but in the end it was the water pump.

    any 1 else had this problem...??
    #18
  20. James333
    Offline

    James333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2008]
    You wouldnt think an A3 cambelt would have the power to break a water pump hehe, sorry, only kidding and hoping you have a cornish sense of humour :eek:) where are you? Im near falmouth. Was yours getting too hot rather than staying cold?
    #19
  21. cornish_a3_turbo
    Offline

    cornish_a3_turbo Guest

    [Dec 3, 2008]
    im in newquay mate...o and ill give you a run for your money....i know u have an s3....but..... lol

    mine was sitting below 70 at all times, but on idle, and parked up it would eventually rise to 90, but go down when i started driving again.

    if you need your cambelt and water pump doing i know a very very reasonable mech.

    o and mine didnt break...it perished! ;)
    #20
  22. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Daddy

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Dec 4, 2008]
    This isn't caused by the waterpump. I've just had the pump, belt and all tensioners changed and it has not changed the temp prob. It must be the thermostat.
    #21
  23. Imteyaz
    Online

    Imteyaz 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 4, 2008]
    True, I had my cam belt and water pump (which incidently was a plastic one but still in good working order) replaced two week before I changed the thermostat and had the same low temp problems. Changed the thermostat recently and temp sat at 90deg regardles and the heating is was fierce enough to melt your face, then I turned the temp down from HI to 22 deg and its much better!
    #22
  24. cornish_a3_turbo
    Offline

    cornish_a3_turbo Guest

    [Dec 4, 2008]
    honestly, that was th problem with my car!

    as i say i thought it was a faulty thermos but it was that!

    ALSO mine isnt an s Line
    #23
  25. James333
    Offline

    James333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 4, 2008]
    Yep, just done mine too, it would surely have the opposite effect anyway, a faulty pump would make it run hot where a duff thermostat is over cooling as the cooling fluid is always allowed into the rad.
    #24
  26. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Daddy

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Dec 5, 2008]
    I'm tempted to do this myself but given that it's -2c outside and I live in flat I don't think it's going to happen. I'll get a quote from Awesome and see what it comes in at.
    #25
  27. SDO
    Offline

    SDO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2008]
    mines the same put a new temp sensor in as told by JBS and my needle don't move at all,
    #26
  28. James333
    Offline

    James333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 5, 2008]
    A normal garage will probably do it cheaper than awesome, wouldnt they charge 'performance tuning garage' prices? I dont know, just a thought tho as its not a specialist thing like some vag things are.
    #27
  29. James333
    Offline

    James333 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 5, 2008]
    do you think an already corroded wire could have broken when you changed it? the extra tug could have sent it over the edge? My sisters a3 had the same problem with her speedo, I was having a final look before I ordered a new sender and realised just inside the loom sleve, there was green corrosion and the wire had snapped.
    #28

Share This Page