1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 NO GEARS!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Duber, May 18, 2006.

  1. Duber
    Offline

    Duber Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gutted! Just pulled away from a residentual junction in 1st then no 2nd,3rd,4th,5th, and just a little pull left in 6th. So by time i pulled over i had nothing to pull away in.mmmmm
    Hope its not the box. It feels as if there is no selectors and the gear stick just flaps about. Got it flat bedded to a garage and there not sure yet until further inspection as the quattro selectors are a pain to replace it might just be cheaper to replace the box completely. Better start saving again£££££££££££££ /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/noidea.gif
    #1
  2. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully its just the cables or where the cable ends attach to the box.
    #2
  3. S3_MCD
    Offline

    S3_MCD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unlucky rye...

    I have been without mine for 3 weeks now ... and missing it loads.

    Good luck with getting it back on the road, hopefully not too expensive.
    #3
  4. Duber
    Offline

    Duber Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got her back today!!! Shes great. was getting proper withdrawal symtoms LOL.

    Anyway it ended up being the cable ends and selector fork? Apparently it drops down into the box and is part of the quattro drive train linkage too. mmmmmm??

    She drives sweet now as the parts came from a 18k gearbox i sourced the other side of London for £300 then paid a VAG specailist (VW Enterprises) to carry out the work which they said was all done in-situ? They charged another £300 as i let then keep the rest of the box as spares.

    So not bad all in all i thinks as car was only off the road for 4 days.

    Was it or does it all sound fair to you guys?


    R
    #4
  5. imported_Stewart
    Online

    imported_Stewart Guest

    Sounds very fair considering your down south mate!
    Having monitored prices discussed on this and the uk-mkivs.net forum (13,000 members), the north south divide is very apparent!

    Consider yourself on top as far as that work is concerned!
    #5
  6. imported_Stewart
    Online

    imported_Stewart Guest

    Off topic slightly, my car has done 47k, got it at 26k and have lavished attention and money on it..

    Anyway, never changed the gearbox oil but had it changed today and the gear selection is much smoother and slicker even though the oil that came out was crystal clear...
    #6
  7. darko
    Offline

    darko Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    what oil did you use when you changed ?
    #7
  8. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    11
    How much is gearbox oil change ?

    Matt
    #8
  9. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gearbox oil on the S3 is 2.6 litres, I've had mine changed for Motul stuff of the correct spec and the gearchange on my car is better than ever!

    You also get a discount from www.opieoils.co.uk for being an AS.net member and they deliver to your door!
    #9
  10. darko
    Offline

    darko Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine is an S3 too, what was the spec of the Motul you used ?
    #10
  11. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you look at the Motul page on the above site you'll see the Gear 300 75w-90 which is the correct spec for the S3 box, not cheap though!
    #11

Share This Page