1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Needle Sweep

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ScottishS3, May 28, 2011.

  1. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    Hi All!
    I test drove a 2009 S3 and on start up, the needles did a sweep round the dials before going back to the start.
    My 2007 S3 needles dont do this.
    Is there anyway for them to do this?
    Thanks in Advance.
    #1
  2. Boydie
    Online

    Boydie Boycie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,830
    Likes Received:
    191
    It depends - some 2007's can do it and some can't.

    Only way to find out is to have your car plugged in on vagcom and see if the option is there!
    #2
  3. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    My S3 was Manufactered in March 07, if that helps. I just need to find someone with VAGCOm in South Wales.
    #3
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Stop off at mine on your way back North & I'll check LOL

    Time to update to the white LED display I think ;-)
    #4
  5. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    can you actually update to the new white LED display??????
    Where are you located?
    #5
  6. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    #6
  7. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    281
    #7
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    For me, it added a few thing. The Digital speedo is my favourite. It also adds comfort functions for doors & windows alone with a way of checking oil temp. Above all, its higher a resolution & looks cleaner & more modern.
    #8
  9. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    omg! I WANT!!!! You defo gotta hook me up!
    #9
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    TBH mate the S3 white dis is like rocking horse poo, I got one for a member just by luck but that still cost hundreds for him & new is about £6-700 iirc.
    #10
  11. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    Well I'm in Cardiff but Planning on going home to Dumfries soon.
    #11
  12. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    Is it hard to change to the white LED display?
    #12
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yeah very hard, on your wallet lmfao

    TBH it depends on the dealer you use to code it in, mine are brilliant, done a number for me & other members, but some other dealers are cockerels of the highest order, get all up there own cause you have the audacity 1st to ask them, 2nd to supply your own cluster & 3rd to advise them the true time/cost of the job, some reports about dealers are hard to believe some days, but they're true.
    #13
  14. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    It seems like a big job and too much hassle!
    #14
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    If you think thats a big job then you'll never get any mods done :p

    TBH its fairly simple, for your car its a case of finding the right cluster & a dealer to code, that by my reckoning isnt hard at all or hassle.
    #15
  16. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    165
    Whats the kind of price we looking at here?
    #16

Share This Page