1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 is not starting!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by vijays786, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Audi-sport.net

    I'm new in here and need some help.


    My car is not starting. When I turn the key it starts to *bib* and the DIS says BRAKES !

    The keys didnt work suddenly, but now they work fine as they should, but the car does not start.

    Checked the brakes and everything seems to be as it should.

    The steering-column lock was recently changed and the battery has been a little low.

    Any Idea's what it might be?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,473
    Nice mix of issues there any of which could have a hand in your problem. Can't imagine there is a safety feature built in that stops car being driven if brakes are worn, unless it's a much bigger brake issue (e.g. ABS failure).

    Battery low will not help as these cars have a lot of electrics to manage. I think it has a smart system which shuts down unnecessary ancillaries to allow car to start with remaining available power, but if this threshold is passed it may be a no go.

    First port of call try charging the battery (cheapest option) - if no charger get a jump start.

    Then if not working get the steering column checked.

    When you say the keys didn't work but then they did, are you sure this wasn't the battery causing this issue?

    And do yourself a favour mate, do get the brakes checked, especially at this time of year when it's hard enough to brake. Pads can be had from £80+ if you self fit so don't risk your safety, or others.

    Best of luck getting it sorted, but remember cold weather seriously impacts battery life / performance, and if its the original battery and the car is in the 56-57 age range it may be getting in that age range where it needs replacing, so GSF or ECP should be able to source one for reasonable money.
     
    vijays786 likes this.
  4. crunchie

    crunchie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    68
    It may not let you start it if you brake fluid level is low or a fault in the level sensor?
    Just a thought.
     
    vijays786 likes this.
  5. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    290
    get someone to come round and plug VAG in to see what errors you actually get.
     
    vijays786 likes this.
  6. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    brakes even abs fault wont stop the car starting
    the brake symbol does come on with low battery
    so as above recharge or jump start the car
     
    vijays786 likes this.
  7. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Battery does not seem to be the problem. I've charged the battery and still it does the same thing.
    Could it be something to do with car has been decoded some how.
    Key is working fine and open and closes the car as it should.

    On the DIS it says ((!))
    Brakes

    The time and date on the car seem to be wrong aswell.
     
  8. Lings

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    30
    Buy a new battery
     
  9. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    try to put a jump pack or jump from another car
    so many ppl get the brake in red and 3 beeps
    sometimes batt seems fine but its just not got enough juice to run all the moduals and start it
    also with the time and date wrong points to dead batt
     
    vijays786 likes this.
  10. S3RYE

    S3RYE Interior Next!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    68
    i had a flat battery recently and the exact same warnings came up. not much help but i havent changed the battery and all seems fine.

    (btw, i charged the battery with jump leads and all is fine since)
     
    vijays786 likes this.
  11. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont understand guys coz there is a prof. charger on the car at a workshop. And battery should be fully charged how can it make a difference if i connect jump leads? i'm pretty sure it has something to do with coding the as the steering-column lock was changed or am i totally wrong? The guy at the workshop couldnt get a reponse on the car when he plugged it to a computer.

    :-S Audi has a long waitng before they can look at the car.
     
    #10 vijays786, Dec 20, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2011
  12. TDIDAN

    TDIDAN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im was having a similar problem turns out water has got into ecu and fried it! because its located under wiper scuttle,

    What years is yours and have you had it mapped?
     
  13. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    604
    car being decoded? are those keys new? as in are they cut new?

    just thinking if the keys are not programmed to the immobiliser then the engine wont start! also you are pressing down on the clutch before turning the key right? (manual cars only)
     
  14. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    What! you must be kidding me.. That sounds really expensive.... how much is a ECU?
     
  15. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    right so u had some work done on the car ?
    did it start b4 the car went into the garage ?
    did it start after the steering lock was changed ?
     
  16. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    water in the ecu box can do the relays
    check in there as above relays dont cost much
     
  17. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    The key is original and works as it should. The immobilliser is located on the steering-column lock and this might be coded wrong or something :shrug: And yes i'm pressing the clucth.. hehe had the car for some while now so i know i'm suppose to.
     
  18. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    i think you should start from the begining
    did it run after steering lock was changed ?

    the immoblizer is coded to the clocks not the steering if codeing was lost car would start for 2 seconds cut out and a yellow light would flash
     
    #17 hades-, Dec 20, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2011
  19. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    From the Start:

    The car is a s3 from 2007 and yes it is mapped.

    Some while back someone broke in to the car and had put a screwdriver into doorlock and broken it.
    The sat nav was stolen and for now i've put the orig. audi chorus in. They also tried to do something to the keyignition but didnt suceed, and the key goes in like it should. Allthough some how the steering-cloumn lock jammed/stuck.

    Bringing me to my problem.

    The car has been standing still for a month now.
    So now the steering-column lock has been changed and it does not start.

    Hopes this helps and sorry for the lack of infomation. i'm new in here.
     
  20. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    right if it was the immo the car would start for 2/3 seconds and cut out if it dont do this then rule that out
    check in the ecu box for water if so dry out etc replace relays
    becos the vcds wont connect id say ecu box
     
  21. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    Is this DSG ????
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    604
    not really, my dads merc just clicks if the immo is not there, we tried it with a new key that opens the locks and works on the remote but no engine
     
  24. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    not been funny but this aint no merc
    audis with an immo problem fire up for 2 to 3 seconds then cut out
    there to very diffrent cars
     
  25. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    It could.. be i'm not so sure about the relays havent checked yet.
    I will try to check it and then tell you, but how could water suddenly go in to the ECU??

    Thanks for the replys so far. Really appreciate all the help for now.

    If anyone else have experienced a problem like this be welcome to write.


    The car is not DSG, it's manual.
     
  26. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone post picture a picture of of their box with the relays look like?? Just want to check if everything is were it should be.
     
  27. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    take a pic of yours and ill tell you if its ok
    i cant be arsd to open mine if its not wet tho it should be ok
     
  28. S.

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    283
    Did you check the spark plugs?
     
  29. Lewis583

    Lewis583 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    89
    Is the engine not turning over or not firing?
     
  30. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    The computer that the work shop (wow) have Cant even communicate with the car and cant roll the windows down with the Keys.
    The battery has a charger on from cebora..
     
  31. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing happens when i turn the key.. Engine does not turn nor fire. The only thing that happens is three bibs and it say brakes like in the first photo.
     
  32. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    does the fuel pupm prime can you hear it ?
    when you turn key does it click or anything
    where are you based ?
     
  33. Lewis583

    Lewis583 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    89
    I'm guessing the chap is overseas judging by the left hand drive and kmph speedo?

    Can they not get communications with any ecu on the car or just the engine control unit?

    If it's just the engine control they can't get into then they should be checking the earths and feeds to the engine control unit.
     
  34. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing happens no Clicking Sound or anything. Could te reason be that the coolerent fluid is under minimum, the Oil is under minimum and the fuel is almost emty. Could it be at safety precaution Then ? Have to mention All the details even the smallest .
    I'm based in sweden.
    Thanks guys
     
  35. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    no nothing to do with fuel oil etc
    to be honest id find a better show and get someone that knows what there doing to look at it
     
  36. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i know but they have a long waiting at Audi. Have booked a time though.

    Was All the electric components in the right place on the photo?? Fuse relays ect.
     
  37. PaulAr

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073
    Likes Received:
    182
    Mine did this, same problem, same warning lights.

    It started with the car cutting out when stuck in traffic, displaying the same warning beep tone and DIS `brakes` sign.

    AUDI assist came out and it continued to happen intermittently, starting then cutting out etc..

    It went into the dealer (under warranty) and the dealer showed me it hooked up to diagnostics and cutting out, when it did, ALL of the Control Modules went to FAIL on the diagnostics machine, which was highly unlikely.

    So the dealer pulled the car to bits, testing every module, only to find it was a power supply RELAY that sat in the circuit ahead of the Control Modules.

    Basically, when the relay shat itself, all of the Control Mdules went down, and the BRAKES warning turned out to be a spurious DIS fault which turned out to be a bit of a red herring and possibly casued by a module associated with the brakes sending duff signals.

    Anyhoo, I am pretty sure this is your problem.
    Just a shame I cant tell you which relay it was, although it turned out to be just a couple of quid for the part and an easy job!

    Good luck with the fix but I would concentrate your efforts here.
    PM me if you want more info or help.

    Paul

    EDIT: Original Post here, sound familiar? http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/new-a3-s3-sportback-8p-chassis/100495-s3-cutting-out-oh-oh.html
     
    #36 PaulAr, Dec 22, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
    vijays786 likes this.
  38. vijays786

    vijays786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Poul!!!!!!!!!
    You are a darling!!!! Problem solved! It was the relay!!!

    Now the car is running, but it seems like thère is somethings wrong .
    The car is shaking and it doesnt have any power.
    I connected the computer and it says fuel pressure regulator 2 fail.
    And the EDC and Engine lights up in DIS.

    Want to thank you guys very much. I'm a very happy that people are so friendly and helpful in here!!!
     
    #37 vijays786, Dec 23, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  39. John ler

    John ler Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which relay did this turn out to be? I have starting problem my S3 will turn over fine but just will not fire up, anyone have any ideas on my problem, I've been searching for ages

    Sorry for pulling an old thread back to life
     

Share This Page