1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Instrument Cluster Problem - PLEASE HELP !

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by imported_G123, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. imported_G123
    Offline

    imported_G123 Guest

    [Oct 11, 2004]
    Please help if anyone has experienced this before !??

    A intermittent electronic problem has occured on my 2001 S3. The entire instrument cluster seems to lose power, while driving and stopped.

    First happened while driving - Rev counter, speedo, temp. and fuel gauge all die, and everything else - DIS, milage display clock and date all go off.

    Clock, date and fuel computer all lost there memory today.

    Also happens when car is just ticking over on the drive.

    Stays off for about 2 seconds then comes back on. The engine does not cut out though, still drives as normal.

    So it seems the instrument cluster is loosing power ???

    Cant help but think this will be an expensive one !!


    Any help appreciated please.



    S3 G
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2004]
    A friend of mine had this happen on his A6 last week. Seemed cold weather effects his car.

    Unfortunately the fix was to replace the complete unit. Wasn't cheap. :-(
    #2
  4. georgie
    Offline

    georgie New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2004]
    Happened to me some time back on my then-new S3, exactly as described. The verdict was a dead instrument cluster. Fortunately was replaced under warranty.... So no idea of the cost.
    #3
  5. MarkS3
    Offline

    MarkS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2004]
    €700 is what i was quoted.
    #4
  6. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Oct 12, 2004]
    I've got one in my cupboard. Had planned to fit it but there is an issue with the immobiliser between two different types so I dont belive that it will code, that plus I believe you can no longer get the SKC ant more.
    #5
  7. imported_G123
    Offline

    imported_G123 Guest

    [Oct 28, 2004]
    Hi Boxer,

    Got the cluster removed and all connections checked, and all fuse connections checked. All tested out fine and they say that it is probally the cluster faulting - could be a dry solder joint, cracked circuit board etc...

    Havent changed it yet ! - Been quoted £334 plus vat plus fitting.

    What was your price ? Have audi looked at your car ?

    Last time it faulted the trip milage kept changing too - look out for this. Defo seems like a cluster fault.

    Since it has been dismantled it has'nt faulted since, fingers crossed....


    S3 G
    #6
  8. Boxer
    Offline

    Boxer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 30, 2004]
    Hi S3G
    Apologies for delayed response, have been overseas! Continue struggling with Audi in South Africa to sort out my instrument cluster. Still acting exactly the same as you described above - when cold, instrumentation acts like its possessed, then settles when the car is warmed up... Date time keeps resetting along with trip. Fuel and temp gauges are now not accurate - seem to have settled about 20% above what they actually are (looks like I have more petrol than I do!)
    Audi have quoted R 6000 (the equivalent of about 550 pounds), so I'm not pleased.
    Seems like its a loose connection at the back of the cluster, but they're saying it's a "sealed unit" so they won't touch it.
    Car's got 60 000 kms, can't believe it!
    Boxer
    #7

Share This Page