1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 fuel pump help - wrong part?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by comdw, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. comdw
    Offline

    comdw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fuel pump packed in. I've got this replacement from eurocarparts which they said was right based on my car reg.

    Now I've got to the existing one, I'm not sure the replacement is the right one. Mine has a third hose connector with a hose that heads to the right hand side of the tank - presumably this would need to be disconnected from the pump to be able to get the pump out, but the replacement only has two hoses - connecting the pump to the top bit that feeds the fuel lines.

    I saw this post which mentions this and a second fuel sender? . Where does this hose actually go to?

    Anyway here are the pics. I need to go back to eurocarparts with this I guess? Audi want £270 for the genuine article (part number match) - OUCH!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,731
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Westy had this issue and ended up buying an OEM one in the end....

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    111
  4. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    489
    when i did my a4 the new pump (oem) was lacking a pipe they told me it was upgraded
    fitted ok i just took the remaining black pipe out the tank and that was it
    #4
  5. comdw
    Offline

    comdw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK well at least they gave me one with the sender and wiring etc. Still unsure about this other pipe - seems it maybe going to another contraption on the other side of the tank, in which case I would assume it does need to be reconnected to any new pump?

    Anyone successfully changed an S3 pump to one that only had two pipes (in the tank)?
    #5
  6. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    It goes to the other sender unit i would imagine it is needed for an accurate reading, you could always replace the actual pump onto your old housing?? by the way its not a nice job, you have to clip/unclip the third black pipe in the tank/petrol as it wont fit back in if you try and do it before.....all this while getting high on V power!
    #6
  7. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    111
    The pipe to the other side of the car runs to another filter/pickup element in the other side of the tank. If you open the other access point on the other side of the seat bench you can see the bit I'm on about. Are you sure the pump you have is for 4WD cars? I believe only 4WD cars have the second pickup due to the tank needing to come up and over the prop shaft.
    #7
  8. comdw
    Offline

    comdw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, I'm with it now, just had a look under the access panel other side...
    #8
  9. comdw
    Offline

    comdw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    But I didn't think I could do this as the new pump I have only has two connecting points and I need three?
    #9
  10. [Dave B]
    Offline

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    111
    It's definately worth confirming its a 3 bar pump for a 4WD S3 as the price seems to good to be true. My OEM pump cost ~£230, the GSF pump I bought and returned cost £170....
    #10
  11. comdw
    Offline

    comdw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a 3 bar pump, maybe not for 4WD, but the others listed for my car look exactly the same on the website (maybe stock photos though so I guess I'll have to go in to a branch or just get the audi ones). Also the one I got maybe just discounted right now, as the list price on the receipt is £154.

    For reference the other ones that come up:

    Pierburg Audi | Euro Car Parts UK’s No.1 Car Parts Retailer

    OE Quality Audi | Euro Car Parts UK’s No.1 Car Parts Retailer

    GSF said they didn't stock one for my car!
    #11
  12. fingermouse
    Offline

    fingermouse thats me

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,771
    Likes Received:
    12
    they are naff at supplying the right parts, They tried and tried to get the right cv joint for my S3 then ended up saying sorry dealer only part. Ended up being almost the same price from Audi and it was right first time
    #12
  13. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    i dont know mate it was just a thought, the pump itself will have an inlet and outlet it will be the casing that splits it 3 ways...
    #13
  14. comdw
    Offline

    comdw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah true, but to be honest I don't really fancy stripping it all down etc and I will lose the option to take it back once I dismantle the new one.

    I'm taking it back, will see if they have something that matches in stock but if not its off to the stealers.
    #14
  15. BuuBBa
    Offline

    BuuBBa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    3
    So is the third connection just piece of hose which goes other side of the fuel tank? And that has just filter end of the hose?

    Cause if it is just another inlet with filter, I could use another kind of (more powerful) intank pump which has just two connections (inlet and outlet). Then I should make some Y-branch for the inlet hoses.

    Or does the another side of the tank have some kind of pump also which feeds the "main" intank pump?

    EDIT: Found THIS which indicates that there is another "pump". So still, could I just make a branch for the hose if I use pump with just two connections?
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
    #15

Share This Page