1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 ECU Removal

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Sandip, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. Sandip

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    86
    I've tried getting my car mapped twice now and on both occasions it has failed to flash the ECU.

    Encrypted chip on the board perhaps???

    Has anybody ever had or known an S3 or any other 1.8t to actually have a chip physical put onto the board (ecu). If so what tuners do this???

    Last query, is there any precautions to take when removing the ecu, i want to take mine out to have a look to see what inside

    Any info greatly appreciated:icon_thumright:
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. s3mad_dude

    s3mad_dude Noggies ruuuule!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    65
    My previous S3 (2000 X reg - APY) had been remapped by a chip being soldered to the ECU before I bought it. I had no idea it was remapped as it was the first S3 I had driven.

    I then went to get it remapped by posting the ECU to a tuning company and they phoned me to say it had some old style chip -board in it. As a result it needed a custom remap made for the ECU which cost a small amount more (additional £100 and took an extra day). I received the ECU back and it was much the same as it was before, but perhaps a little pokier, but not much in it really over the previous map. It was a more modern remap though.

    With regards to removing the ECU it was relatively easy but the wiper scuttle (grille thing) is brittle and hard so be careful. I didn't remove it, just flexed it slowly up and then removed the ECU from it's slider rails. So just be careful, take your time, and be gentle. All the time the ECU was removed, I left the car unlocked in the garage and didn't attempt to operate anything - just to be on the safe side.
     
    #2 s3mad_dude, Mar 19, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
  4. crystal-clear

    crystal-clear New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Sandip,

    Sometimes these cars can cause problems when trying to load a remap on them, for (sometimes) reasons unknown or because:

    -You have an expired Revo or APR trial
    -There is a Superchips remap on the car and they have used a protection board
    -There is a broken wire between the OBD socket and the ECU

    If you want to remove the ECU, it is located underneath the scuttle panel, we often have to remove the ECU on the 1.8Ts to remap them for this reason. No soldering or chipping required though!
     
  5. Sandip

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    86
    Thanks for the info bud, i tried 4yrs to put a Revo and APR trial, both failed. Tried last year to put APR stage 2, that failed. And today Revo stage 2 was attempted and failed. Not sure about the broken wire between the OBD and ECU, i scan the car every week or so and recently did logs, never had an issue with scanning for faults or doing logs.

    If i took the ECU off and had a look inside, would it be obvious if it has had a chip installed/protection board??
     
  6. beachbuggy

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    191
    The Bosch ME7.5 in these car should be able to be flashed over the OBD, and if for any reason it can't be then it should almost certainly be able to be bench flashed. Unless as previously stated it has an encryption board.

    If the ECu hasn't been removed before it can be a little bit of a pain as they have a proctective case around the ecu which stops one of the plugs being removed but it's not impossible.
     
  7. Sandip

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    86
    I think it has been removed at some point, my scuttle panel has been a pain ever since i bought the car

    Should i disconnect the battery before removing the ECU ?
     
  8. dancarpy

    dancarpy S3 DCY

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    3
    Good job i diddnt come down today then sandip ? lol
     
  9. Sandip

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yeah, i guess so, gutted it didn't go on though :(
     
  10. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Black Edition Team Brill Red

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    16,075
    Likes Received:
    1,892
    Mine had to be bench flashed at Stealth as Vince said the ODB way wasn't having it
     
  11. crystal-clear

    crystal-clear New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Either way it can be remapped, you just need to take it to the right people :)
     
  12. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,553
    Likes Received:
    640
    Does sound like a wiring issue.

    From what i understand, theres a wire in the OBD plug that needs either grounded or pushed high, which enables the write mode in the ECU. If this wire is broken the ECU wont allow writing.
     
  13. finesse

    finesse Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ecu from a breaking S3? Is the mileage data stored some where else?
     
  14. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,553
    Likes Received:
    640
    Mileage data?

    The odometer is part of the cluster if thats what you mean, nothing to do with the ECU.
     
  15. S3_nick

    S3_nick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    My S3 failed revo stage 2 the tuner removed the ECU and mapped the ECU out of the car
     
  16. Sandip

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    86
    Would a wiring issue not also cause me to have issues getting onto vag com to scan for faults and do logs
     
  17. Sandip

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    86
    :icon_thumright: I've visited a mapper after i visited Awesome and he has assured me he'll put Revo on if that's what i want but i've decided to remap mine from scratch. Can't wait!!!:racer:
     
  18. Sandip

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    86
    Any ideas why yours didn't go on Nick?
     

Share This Page