1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 ECU on A3 1.8T?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by 9-Points&Counting, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. 9-Points&Counting
    Offline

    9-Points&Counting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    Hello.

    I've just bought an 03 plate, A3 8L 1.8T but have still got my 2000 plate, 8L S3 with a Revo map in it.

    Does anybody know if I can directly swap the ECU's?

    And if you know that, you may know if I can also swap the injectors and the forge DV to carry on getting all the fun of the fair from my S3 :laugh:

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. ads1377
    Offline

    ads1377 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    I cant see anything wrong with the Forge DV as this is a straight swap for the original.

    Not sure about the other things
    #2
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,922
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    Nope... an S3 ecu/map can't be used for several reasons.. the S3 ecu you have will most likely be from an APY so not even physically the same type of ecu...

    You wouldn't be able to use a wideband ECU and map from a later S3 either as it will be coded for completely different hardware and the S3 has sensors the A3 doesn't have..

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  5. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    274
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    Why not just drive the S3, much easier than swapping bits around, even if they were to fit,lol
    #4
  6. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    Knock sensors, maf, injectors, coilpacks, lambda sensor are all going to different, if you fitted the turbo, injectors, maf, knock sensors, loom and lamfa from the s3 onto the a3 then yes it would work.
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    why would the knock sensors be different?

    I planned to use my 058 AJL knock sensors with a AUQ wideband ECU...
    #6
  8. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    They are different frequency or something, when I upgraded my APY to BAM the knock sensors didn't register CFs. Barks found the same. I changed them over and all was good.
    #7
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    hmm...

    need to compare part numbers and see whats what.

    I believe the APU runs ME7.1 and uses the same sensors as mine, will need to see what the AUQ uses.
    #8
  10. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    Ok seems to be some sort of narrowband/wideband split.

    APY and AGU use the same sensor

    AUQ and BAM use the same sensor

    One would imagine that means my ME7.5 ECU is going to want the later sensors from an AWT or B6 motor of some description.


    How come i've never heard of this issue when folk convert from narrowband to wideband?
    #9
  11. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Jul 25, 2012]
    Well i'd imagine that most people that do this wouldn't bother to look at CF's maybe? I only took notice as I was mapping the ECU and thought it odd nothing showed on the CF's...

    Now you know though :)
    #10
  12. Barks
    Offline

    Barks Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    The knock sensor wiring on pre 2000 APY is reversed to a post 2000 apy. All wideband ecus have the later apy wiring

    Therefore if you do a wideband conversion on a pre 2000 apy the knock sensors are reversed for the new wideband ecu and no knock is sensed, (I have a later APY and reversed mine to prove and no knock was sensed).

    I have yet to fit the new (none tail type) knock sensors to prove if there is difference in the measure knock therefore CF.
    #11
  13. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,331
    Likes Received:
    695
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    its windowed knock sensing so this would kinda make sense (the no workie bit if reversed), Comparing knock voltages would be another measurement to see if levels are perceived as being the same I guess
    #12
  14. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    cant you just reverse the wiring in the harness to suit?

    And by reversed do you mean the channels have been swapped over, or that the polarity on the sensor is backwards?
    #13
  15. Barks
    Offline

    Barks Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    Yeah, I am going to compare logs and compare the knock voltages between the old and new style sensors, to prove if there is a differnece in design on the actual sensors.

    The knock channels are swapped over between the versions, the plugs are identical so it can be changed at the by swapping over the plugs.
    #14
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    Ok, a very quick look suggests that the ME7.1 APU harness i have is wired the same way as the later ECU's, so might not be a problem at all :)

    I'll post the pinouts shortly.
    #15
  17. 9-Points&Counting
    Offline

    9-Points&Counting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    Cheers mate, an nice clear answer for a change :icon_thumright:
    #16
  18. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,922
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    Welcome... all my answers are clear :p

    <tuffty/>
    #17

Share This Page