1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 cuts out when warm :-s !! Anyone else had this ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by motfree, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 29, 2011]
    Hi there ..
    Driving along the other day and my S3 suddenly cut out and would re start .. After getting the aa out they thought maybe crank sensor due to it being head related ..
    Anyways got it too an audi specialist and they cant find any fault codes that it didn't have 6 months ago ( lambda sensor )

    Just wondering anyone else had this problem ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Ian W
    Offline

    Ian W Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 29, 2011]
    I went through a stage of this happening, strange as it sounds it was my knee knocking the key and switching it off lol
    #2
    Tim_Attard likes this.
  4. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 29, 2011]
    Haha wish this was my problem :-(
    #3
  5. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jan 29, 2011]
    scan the car vagcom
    #4
  6. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 29, 2011]
    Already done no fault codes
    #5
  7. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Jan 29, 2011]
    youve just put the engine in right? check all connectors again and the main fuses
    #6
  8. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 29, 2011]
    Well it's at a specialist I think they've have a good look over it and they can't seem to work it out .. Got to be something like that though i guess as no faults are coming up .. Was fine for a day or 2 after getting engine fitted though that's what I don't understand !!
    Never had Soooo much hassle from a car before haha
    If it was something not connected properly wouldn't that show on the diagnostics ?
    #7
  9. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    What could be the results of my s3 doing this ?? Eg coolant temp sensor ... Etc
    Its just I've been told that faults don't always show up on diagnostics so might do bits to rule this out and see where I stand as the garage don't seem too keen on sorting the problem out !!
    #8
  10. Ian W
    Offline

    Ian W Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    Where is it?
    #9
  11. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    Discount audi vw in elsmereport ..
    #10
  12. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    That made me LOL how tall are you?
    #11
  13. Optimum Tuning
    Offline

    Optimum Tuning www.optimumtuning.co.uk

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    ive had a similar problem with a tt a pipe in the tank had come off.first job- try to monitor rpm signal when cranking with vag com
    #12
  14. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    Was this when the car was warm though ?? It was fine before I had the new engine put in and everything off my old engine has gone on this one ..
    #13
  15. Optimum Tuning
    Offline

    Optimum Tuning www.optimumtuning.co.uk

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    The tt cut out and would never start again and no fault codes stored .best to go back to basics with yours i think mate,has it got a spark ?does it have fuel pressure etc? then go from there. The ecu must think everything is within parameters and circuits must have continuity for it to show no fault codes.e.g no fuel pressure will not show any faults as there is no sensor!
    #14
  16. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    Crank sensor is a common one, and it doesnt always throw a code as many have learnt already.

    When it failed and the AA said it was the crank sensor, did you replace it?
    #15
  17. Ian W
    Offline

    Ian W Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    Only 5'10

    My key was pretty ruined though and used to just hang down, it was only when I was in full relax mode on the motorway i'd do it lol
    #16
  18. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    When it was recovered by the aa he made sure fuel was coming through then he checked injectors .. Also checked there was a spark .. God hate cars sometimes haha good when they ain't poorly !!
    If there's fuel getting through and a spark I'm not even sure where to go from there ..
    #17
  19. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    Not yet because wanted to get it plugged in first .. I've been told could be a number of things but a crank sensor is £30 .. Coolant temp sensor £30 ish need to borrow parts I think haha
    But only cuts out when it's warm .. Then leave it for 20 mins half an hour and starts straight away ..
    #18
  20. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    the temp sender usually affects the way it starts and runs and not make it cut out.

    We have seen a good few on here with warm failure of crank sensor. Once cut out, i assume it won't start until it's been stood?
    #19
  21. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 30, 2011]
    Yep have to wait for about 20 mins then will start up straight away but cut out again once reaches certain temp ..
    Doesn't it always show on diagnostics then ?
    #20
  22. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Engine speed sensor .. Would this cause the engine to cut out like described ??
    #21
  23. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    yes, same thing, just a different name mate.

    be wary of buying pattern parts too on these especially
    #22
  24. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    my monies on the crank sensor....... make sure the pattern part is the right one, a well known VAG parts bloke sent me a golf item which ISN'T the same regardless of fitting in the same hole.....mine cost £35
    #23
  25. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Well the garage said they think this is the fault .. But £60 odd plus vat !! Bit steep I think !!
    #24
  26. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Yellow : Oil filter
    Red : Crank/speed sensor
    [​IMG]


    #25
  27. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    £60!! try and fit it yourself on the drive :) ....trust me, if that includes the part, its a bargain.......half hour labour for a garage with a ramp
    #26
  28. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Well just said to them fix it as I didnt know where to start haha .. Well rang them this afternoon and they said £140 plus vat for diagnostics , oil and filter change and the sensor so isn't too bad I guess .. Be glad to have it sorted !!
    #27
  29. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    just hope that does it mate..... welcome to never having any money lol
    #28
  30. motfree
    Offline

    motfree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Haha I'm supprised I've still got it to be honest I get bored very easy but I think the speed keeps me keen :)
    #29
  31. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Feb 4, 2011]
    Already suggested this to OP when he PM'd me - lol.
    #30
  32. Audi_Alex
    Offline

    Audi_Alex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 22, 2013]
    Hi Guys,

    it looks like I have got the same problem with my S3. When it tries to cut out on me, i shift it into a lower gear and the engine starts again for another few hundred metres. Does this point to the crank sensor going?

    There are no fault codes either

    Thanks in advance for any help
    #31
  33. chazza55
    Offline

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 22, 2013]
    When my crank sensor went I usually was able to almost get to work (4miles) before it was warm enough to cause problems.

    When cold, the resistance was within spec, when warm (after cut out) it was out of spec.

    Sometimes got fault codes, sometimes didn't. When I did it was for the cam shaft intake side being over advanced/retarded.

    In the early days of the problem I was able to get to work but the engine would have gone into limp home with an epc light in the dash
    #32
  34. Audi_Alex
    Offline

    Audi_Alex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 24, 2013]
    Hi chazza,

    This sounds exactly like my problem at the moment, so did you replace the crank sensor and all was fine afterwards?

    I've got a quote for a new sensor to be £118.37, seems quite steep doesn't it?

    Cheers
    #33
  35. chazza55
    Offline

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 24, 2013]
    yup - all was fine after the new sensor was fitted.

    fitted myself......quite easy......1 single allen key screw near the oil filter.......need to get the front on ramps/axle stands to get under the car to do it.

    think i paid about £106 for mine - cant remember where from (maybe audi as eurocarparts didnt have the bosch version, only some pattern part).

    so i guess your quote isn't too far off..............unless you can find one from a breakers yard? but then you dont know how much life is left in that one.

    I am actually still using a sensor from a spare VW Bora engine my friend had.......that has been running for over a year now with no issues....but will do intend to fit the new sensor this "summer".

    Good luck with it!
    #34

Share This Page