1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 cut out with ESP light on

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3 GHO, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. S3 GHO
    Offline

    S3 GHO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys,

    looking for a bit of help / reassurance. Whilst greasing up my sticky back calliper, I noticed that the ESP rod connector was snapped so that needs replaced. I took the car a run thereafter and gave it the obligatory MESSAGE, which was fine ....but.... When I caned it again in first, the ESP light came on, the car then spluttered and cut out. Restarted and it ran but very very rough with the light still on. No other light on in the dash.

    Car is running and esp light is now off but I'm concerned. Any thoughts on if it could just Ben that sensor or something more sinister?
    #1
  2. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,918
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    Maybe try a vcds scan on it to see if there is an underlying fault. Do you have vcds cable? :) x
    #2
  3. S3 GHO
    Offline

    S3 GHO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    A guy at my work has vagcom?
    #3
  4. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,918
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    I would gt a scan done for peace of mind, if you get stuck for vcds, we have plenty members in Scotland so you wont be stuck. Pm if you need assisstance with vcds. :) x
    #4
  5. S3 GHO
    Offline

    S3 GHO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Sandra, have you heard of a car cutting out with an ESP light before? Seems weird.
    #5
  6. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,918
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    Not that i can remember, one of the boys will probably be along and help you out. :) x
    #6
  7. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,203
    Likes Received:
    873
    MAAAAAF!
    #7
    Sandra likes this.
  8. S3 GHO
    Offline

    S3 GHO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    Maf is a good shout
    #8
  9. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,203
    Likes Received:
    873
    Yup.

    Maf unplugged you get the ESP light on, the car should revert to a predefined airflow table based on what the MAP sensor sees, the given RPM and load request of the TB angle combined with throttle pedal. If you have an intermittent MAF fault you *can* suffer misfires due to over fueling and see a flickers of the ESP light.

    Scan it for codes; I bet it says MAF signal too high, or implausible signal.
    #9
  10. S3 GHO
    Offline

    S3 GHO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    Good man! Will a vagcom show those faults or does it need to be vcds?
    #10
  11. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Vagcom is the old name , VCDS is the new name!
    #11

Share This Page