1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Chain Timing issues...anyone got any experience

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Harveysmith, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi all

    As mentioned above Audi believe that i have an issue with my chain timing. the issue is that the car wont rev above 5500rpm, literally just dies, the ECU cuts all power, the engine is smooth all they up to that point. we have changed the DV, camshaft and crankshaft sensors and MAF and now i am at this point. no fault codes are being shown and Audi believe its not being picked it. They want £516 to investigate further after paying them £216 for the initial investigation!!!!!

    does anyone have any experience in this matter and would it cause the mentioned symptoms?
     
    #1 Harveysmith, Jan 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral
    Team Ibis Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    3,997
    I have to say at this point I'd take the car to a good independent tuner.

    Don't shoot any more in their direction,and go to the nearest place recommended by people here.

    Roughly where are you?
     
  4. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    I live in Plymouth, Devon PL99UH.

    thanks Alex
     
  5. Lee540

    Lee540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    10
    RK Engineering in St Agnes, Cornwall

    Or

    AVS in Pool nr. Redruth, Cornwall
     
  6. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Blimey that's 70 miles away from me!
     
  7. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral
    Team Ibis Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    3,997
    might want to edit those postcodes a bit....good lcuk
     
  8. Lee540

    Lee540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry, I didn't use postcode but you said Plymouth. I live in St Ives and Plymouth is 75 miles. The place in St Agnes I'd recommend, they look after my Audi and are specialists in VAG and general turbo cars also.

    Don't know any where north of the border though..
     
  9. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral
    Team Ibis Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    3,997
    I'm sure someone will be along with some more suggestions shortly,but I do think you need someone who knows what they're doing.

    I'd recommend my guys but that would be a serious trek!
     
  10. dandav1985

    dandav1985 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    68
    Have you been to transit garage near tesco crown hill. There one of the better ones on Plymouth.

    Cheers Dan
     
  11. XFi

    XFi In need of a V8.

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    47
    I'm sure someone had the same issue on here and it was a cam sensor or something... hopefully he will see this thread as I can't remember who it was now...
     
  12. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Already camped the cam sensor and the crankshaft sensor
     
  13. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here is a video of what's happening. It's actually got worse

    S3 8p won't go over 500rpm - YouTube

    Just spoke to garage and they said they haven't changed the crankshaft sensor only checked it and it's reading
     
  14. s3joe

    s3joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    71
    That's a mad fault that have you had your cambelt done recently
     
  15. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well it was dint about 4k ago
     
  16. s3joe

    s3joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    71
    Have the sensors been replaced with genuine ones
     
  17. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah all parts are from TPS. I have instructed them to replace the crankshaft sensor Monday.
     
  18. s3joe

    s3joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    71
    Can you not do it yourself
     
  19. Harveysmith

    Harveysmith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Good news!!!! It's fixed!!!! Turns out it was a faulty crankshaft sensor. Thanks for all your help appreciated it
     
    S3Alex, warren_S5 and ACWKGYTO like this.
  20. ACWKGYTO

    ACWKGYTO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    328
    Nice one !
     
  21. s3joe

    s3joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    71
    very nice
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Jonse

    Jonse Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    48
    Wish I read this earlier I had the same fault at the beginning on jam and swapped the cam shaft sensor. Good news it's all good.
     

Share This Page