1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 CD Upgrade to MP3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by gdwood, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. gdwood
    Offline

    gdwood New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    My apologies in advance for asking what must be an oft-repeated question.

    Having left my audio system untouched since I bought my S3 new in 2000, I thought it was about time that I upgraded the standard (pre-wired) 6 CD changer so I can play them new-fangled MP3 thingies with the standard Concert head unit. I've had a look at the Phatbox, but I can't justify the cost.

    Not being an expert in these things, I would welcome any advice on the kit I need. I've had a look at the Sony CDX-T70MX (which seems to fit the bill) and wondered whether anyone out there has any experience of this? Or perhaps there's something better (and cheaper)? I'm all ears!

    Thanks in anticipation.

    G.
    #1
  2. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much have you been quoted for a phatnoise mate?

    You can get one for around £170 which will fit directly into your existing cd changer cable.
    #2
  3. S3_MCD
    Offline

    S3_MCD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    My advice would be to buy and ipod and dension cable (£100) to connect it to your standard HU through the CD auto change port.

    Easy job, 30-40 mins to install
    #3
  4. SimonP
    Offline

    SimonP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]

    ... will fit directly into your existing cd changer cable.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Just a note that not all S3's actually have the CD changer pre-installed.
    #4
  5. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]

    ... will fit directly into your existing cd changer cable.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Just a note that not all S3's actually have the CD changer pre-installed.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    He says he has the cd changer in his post... So I'm guessing that he has the cable too! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    #5

Share This Page