1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Callipers

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Apr 8, 2012.

  1. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    I got a set of S3 brakes to convert my brakes from 288mm to 312mm.

    Will the S3 callipers fit?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    10
    i asked the same question and the answer is yes but aragorn said they use a smaller piston than the a4 ones
    so as long as you have ate calipers in good working order already there's no point it would just be more work bleeding brakes

    i am curious as to what difference a couple of mm in piston size makes, never heard of s3 owners swapping to a4 calipers
     
  4. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    206
    I dont think they do scott as they have straight screw in fitting on the calliper where as ours iirc have a small brake pipe and a union fitting wear the pad wear indicator connector is if you got some custom brakelines then id say they probably may fit but i just used the existing caliper as tgere almost identical.
     
  5. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,629
    Likes Received:
    649
    Yeh, the stock calipers have 57mm pistons, whereas the S3/TT ones have 54mm, so you'd actually reduce your braking effort.

    As bradders says the brake pipe fittings etc are a bit different.

    Just keep the stock A4 caliper and use the S3 carrier.

    You can then stick the A4 carrier on with the S3 calipers and put them back on ebay as standard 288mm A3/golf brakes ;)
     
  6. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    I'm not worried about bleeding. I'm replacing the fluid.

    The size difference on the pistons will effect peddle travel but can't see how it will effect the braking effects.

    I'll check these callipers and mine and I'll stick with the best set or even rebuild a set, I got enough time.

    Which pads do you I order?
    I don't want to order normal 288mm pads cause they won't use the full disc surface, do I order S3 pads?
     
  7. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    206
    The 288mm pads use the same disc surface as the 312mm ones, heres a pic of a caliper and you can see what i mean by the fitting on our caliper.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,629
    Likes Received:
    649
    Simple physics.

    Force = pressure x area.

    Pressure is related to the force your leg would apply to the pedal.

    Area is the size of the piston on the caliper.

    given area = pi x r^2, going from 54mm to 57mm is about 10% reduction in braking force for a given pedal pressure.

    going from 288 to 312mm disks only gains you about 8%.

    You dont really want to be using the S3 calipers.
     
  9. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    I'm only questioning it cause when I looked at these S3 brakes the pads covered the whole surface of the disc.
    When ever I've seen any one do a 288-312mm conversion there pads never use all the surface of the disc.

    I'll try and find some pics.
     
  10. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Got it.
    I wont.
     
  11. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,629
    Likes Received:
    649
    Scott: the pad surface area is the same, it just sits further out from the centre with a bigger ventilation gap.
     
  12. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,175
    Likes Received:
    454
    You probably have 280's on there scott dont you?
     
  13. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    From Jason.S build thread.
    [​IMG]

    Unless I'm missing something, I don't think thats a 288mm pad.
     
  14. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    288mm, I checked it a couple of times.
     
  15. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,629
    Likes Received:
    649
    110 TDi's got 288's.

    It is a 288 pad.

    On the 288 disks theres not as large a gap between the central hub, and the pad surface:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Ahh ok.
    That makes sense.
    Ta.
     

Share This Page