1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 boosting problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by silo1714, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. silo1714
    Offline

    silo1714 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    im new to this site and iv just got an 2000 palte s3 quattro turbo. it dosn't seem that fast its standard apart from a k&n filter with a heat shield.It has a boost gauge and with full throttle its showing 0.5 bar is this right? or do i have a problem?

    Any help will be greatly appreciated

    many thanks

    simon
    #1
  2. future
    Offline

    future Scuderia Vittoria Edition 001

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    31
    sounds like it could be on actuator pressure, check the hoses and wiring around the n75 and that its plugged in the correct way as a starting point
    #2
  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,794
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    Scan for fault codes...

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  4. silo1714
    Offline

    silo1714 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help its going in to the garage on Saturday to be checked over so il get him to check everything you said and plug the handheld computer in to see if any faults come up.

    Its defiantly not pulling as it should i struggled to keep up with my mates zafira gsi turbo off the lights last night

    il post the results after iv been to the garage

    Thanks again

    simon
    #4
  5. silo1714
    Offline

    silo1714 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys iv had the s3 into the garage today and plugged into the computer no fault codes came up and none were stored. iv check al the hoses and couldn't find anything wrong.

    its still only boosting at 0.6 bar anything else i can try im getting really frustrated any help will be very much appreciated

    Thanks

    Simon
    #5
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,794
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    What did they use to scan it? not all generic tools pick up VAG fault codes...

    0.5bar is typically actuator pressure but its now boosting to 0.6bar? I would suggest logging with VCDS to see what the actual boost request is and what its producing... how are you measuring boost? if using a gauge maybe the gauge is under reading? logging with VCDS will confirm whats 'actually' happening...

    <tuffty/>
    #6
  7. silo1714
    Offline

    silo1714 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just been reading some threads on this problem and it was suggested to disconnect the n75 electric plug to see if that made any difference.

    I have just been out and disconnected what im quit sure was the right lead (im not very mechanically minded) i took it up the road and it was worse only boosting at about 0.25-0.3 bar does this mean anything to anyone???

    Im from the Bristol area does anyone know somewhere i can take the s3 that can sort this problem for me

    Thanks for all the help

    Simon
    #7

Share This Page