1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 bonnet sensor

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Westy, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,362
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Can VAG be used to check the bonnet sensor on the S3 (2002 BAM)?

    My alarm isn't arming and I think i've narrowed the problem down to the bonnet sensor as the DIS shows both doors and the boot working. I took the sensor apart yesterday and gave it a squirt of WD40 to try and clean it up at bit but it still doesn't work. I need to determine whether the sensor is actually broken or if VAG has been used to disable the alarm.

    If anyone can confirm for me.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,362
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Anyone?
     
  4. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,362
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Ok if nobody knows about the bonnet sensor can someone confirm if the alarm can be dissabled using VAG?
     
  5. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,362
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Ok well now I have my own VAG cable I have checked this for myself and I have noticed that the bonnet sensor doesn't show up in VCDS!
     
  6. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    Hello mate, suprised noone has posted on this thread.

    Normally to test if a sensor if faulty you can simulate the action by shorting or opening the circuit. Take of the connector plugged into the sensor and see what happens, then short the 2 pins together and again see what happens.

    I know with my car I can disable the alarm with VCDS so you may be right about yours.
     

Share This Page