1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 aftermarket stereo help

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Flubster, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. Flubster
    Offline

    Flubster Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    Hi,

    New owner of a 2002 Audi S3. Love the car, its totally standard (so yes it'll need a remap, TLC and some tinkering!) and yes its in silver - the fastest colour!

    Only real problem is the headunit (single din audi chorus). Has a volume control problem. So its time to replace especially as I have an alpine stereo in a box in the cupboard!

    I've done loads of searching, most threads talk about non or rear bose amplified systems, from what I can tell mine is full bose, (Bose front speaker covers, bose sub (2 speakers in sub) in one boot pocket, and what looks like an amp in the second! Local auto electrcian has never seen a full bose system so has no idea!

    As part of the shopping list I will have to buy some radio keys so I can remove the stereo, so I can't see whats behind the unit!

    Shopping list so far:

    1) Fascia Adaptor (CT24AU07)
    2) Active Aerial adaptor (CT27AA08) (Think this is right, headunit has the long type - car has the small flat type?)
    3) Wiring Harness (?)
    4) Canbus Adaptor (CAN-01.2)

    These are connects2 part numbers - if anyone knows any better parts then please advise!

    Can someone who knows what i'm attempting tell me if i'm ordering the correct parts and what harness i'll need? (headunit has Front and Rear RCA so will use them to get sound) Don't want to replace the bose system yet, just replace the headunit with the exsiting speakers / sub until I can afford a proper sub / speaker install.

    Apologies for the long post, i'll put up a hello thread, with piccys soon!

    Dave
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. BuckleyTDI
    Offline

    BuckleyTDI Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    Just so you know you can get the standard headunit fixed for £70 at a company near me.

    James
    #2
  4. s3mad_dude
    Offline

    s3mad_dude Noggies ruuuule!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    43
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    Or you can trade it in at an Audi Dealer for a refurbished unit for around £150 I did this on my old 2000 APY model S3 and it looked brand new. Also, it comes with a two year warranty.

    AndyMac is very helpful and he knows these Bose systems like the back of his hand. I don't think it's a straight forward swap to replace the headunit and retain the full "BOSE-ness" of your set up but it can be done.
    #3
  5. knoxie
    Offline

    knoxie K4OXE

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    this is a right pain, i tried all of the wiring harnesses with a few different head units at a company near me, he contacted a company and they are sending a new product out to see if it fixes my problem, i have spoke to a few other people who say a simple wiring harness works fine... guess im just an unlucky one
    #4
  6. BuckleyTDI
    Offline

    BuckleyTDI Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    Have you still not had any luck fella?

    james
    #5
  7. knoxie
    Offline

    knoxie K4OXE

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    well is all working now barring a popping noise when skipping a track/turning on/off, spoke to andy and he recomended a wiring harness still had no effect, we even tried it with different stereos, i have a harness thing coming in tommorow i believe if not that then the bose is getting ripped put haha

    you have some good taste in music btw, some strange ones too ;-)
    #6
  8. BuckleyTDI
    Offline

    BuckleyTDI Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    thats a pure mix of mine and my other halfs, as we use the same itunes account lol, well thats my excuse he he
    #7
  9. knoxie
    Offline

    knoxie K4OXE

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    excuses excuses, i spoke to her about getting her a car like yours and she said she want a beetle :-/
    #8
  10. BuckleyTDI
    Offline

    BuckleyTDI Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    least you wont have to worry bout your bird having a nicer, faster car than yours lol
    #9
  11. Flubster
    Offline

    Flubster Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2012]
    If you manage to get it to work keep me informed please knoxie :)

    From what I can see I have 2 options: PC9-410 (rca) or CT51-AU01 (speaker iso block)

    think the PC9-410 would provide a better sound - but people say it produces pops, anyone used a STSGN21 to remove these pops, or used a Ground Loop Isolator?

    Oh and I think I need a CT27AA05 not a CT27AA08!

    Dave
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012
    #10
  12. knoxie
    Offline

    knoxie K4OXE

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Apr 10, 2012]
    will do mate
    #11
  13. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 11, 2012]
    Pop stoppers just delay the amp turn on so don't work, GLI's are pretty useless as well. The only known cure is to use the inferior speaker input adapter or fit small capacitors to the RCA signal leads to isolate them from the Bose amps bizarre capacitor array on the input stage. It's these capacitors that cause the pop by discharging whenever the RCA output on the HU is muted/earthed (ironically to reduce noise)
    #12
  14. knoxie
    Offline

    knoxie K4OXE

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Apr 11, 2012]
    the guy is still waiting a new order for them, will keep updated as he rekons its a new product and he has a contract with an audi dealer for aftermarket fitments so should know the bose fairly well, only time will tell with this one i think

    knoxie
    #13
  15. Flubster
    Offline

    Flubster Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2012]
    Thanks knoxie :) fingers crossed!
    #14
  16. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 13, 2012]
    Audi dealers know nothing about the Bose system (or indeed anything to do with ICE)
    #15
  17. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 8, 2012]
    Did u ever get the pop problem sorted? as im having the same problem now and could use some good news
    #16

Share This Page