1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 - A few questions

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by the_lecht_rocks, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. the_lecht_rocks
    Offline

    the_lecht_rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    1. How do you get the wipers into "service" position to allow windscreen cleaning ?

    2. How [if at all] do you get water temp displayed on the DIS ?

    3. How [if at all] do you get oil temp displayed on the DIS ?

    TIA.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    432
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    1. When you've just turned the ignition off just push the wiper stalk down to do a flick wipe and it will put the wipers up into service mode

    2. You can't, it doesn't have water temp anywhere

    3. This you can do. You need to select lap timer function to see it. On the DIS, make sure you are on the car computer menu (the left one out of the 4 tabs. Using the left and right buttons), then press the menu button on the left hand side of the steering wheel (square with lines in) then scroll to lap timer.
    #2
  4. MatthewC
    Offline

    MatthewC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Mar 3, 2014]

    Regarding point 1; you'll have to do what Itguy said for 3 seconds (and the same again for putting them down)
    #3
    Itguy likes this.
  5. the_lecht_rocks
    Offline

    the_lecht_rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    I have advanced key assume just press the engine stop then depress the wiper stalk then ?
    #4
  6. veeeight
    Online

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    1,042
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    3. There is also a VCDS mod that will enable you to show oil temp in all menus. Worth doing.
    #5
  7. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    432
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    Can't confirm because I don't have advanced key, but I'd assume it is just when the ignition is off.
    #6
  8. MatthewC
    Offline

    MatthewC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    Yes, that's correct
    #7
  9. vakaviti
    Offline

    vakaviti Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    Can also confirm this for point 3...i took car to dealer to have them code the oil temp to show on all DIS menus on the S3
    #8

Share This Page