1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 - A few questions

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by the_lecht_rocks, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. the_lecht_rocks

    the_lecht_rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    273
    1. How do you get the wipers into "service" position to allow windscreen cleaning ?

    2. How [if at all] do you get water temp displayed on the DIS ?

    3. How [if at all] do you get oil temp displayed on the DIS ?

    TIA.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    1. When you've just turned the ignition off just push the wiper stalk down to do a flick wipe and it will put the wipers up into service mode

    2. You can't, it doesn't have water temp anywhere

    3. This you can do. You need to select lap timer function to see it. On the DIS, make sure you are on the car computer menu (the left one out of the 4 tabs. Using the left and right buttons), then press the menu button on the left hand side of the steering wheel (square with lines in) then scroll to lap timer.
     
  4. MatthewC

    MatthewC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14

    Regarding point 1; you'll have to do what Itguy said for 3 seconds (and the same again for putting them down)
     
    Itguy likes this.
  5. the_lecht_rocks

    the_lecht_rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    273
    I have advanced key assume just press the engine stop then depress the wiper stalk then ?
     
  6. veeeight

    veeeight I am a very pretty girl
    VCDS Map User Black Edition

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4,997
    Likes Received:
    2,983
    3. There is also a VCDS mod that will enable you to show oil temp in all menus. Worth doing.
     
  7. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    Can't confirm because I don't have advanced key, but I'd assume it is just when the ignition is off.
     
  8. MatthewC

    MatthewC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes, that's correct
     
  9. vakaviti

    vakaviti Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    41
    Can also confirm this for point 3...i took car to dealer to have them code the oil temp to show on all DIS menus on the S3
     

Share This Page