1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 8P cruise control retrofit - engine won't code

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by davF, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. davF
    Offline

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 16, 2014]
    After fitting the retrofit parts yesterday, today I went to get it coded. Steering control module coded fine but the engine wouldn't code?

    Few screen shots:
    ** standard coding**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step1.png
    **cruise control selected**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step2.png
    **current vs new coding**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step3.png
    ** FAIL - error message**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step4.png

    Looks to be that the equipment number is too high and not in range but this couldn't be altered.

    Anyone able to shed some light on this?

    Thanks
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2014
    #1
  2. davF
    Offline

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 16, 2014]
    Car in question is a 2011, so the wire isn't required I'm led to believe.
    #2
  3. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,457
    [Feb 16, 2014]
    Suggest you contact NHN as he's our resident in house coding expert; go to his section in forum sponsors.
    #3
  4. davF
    Offline

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 16, 2014]
    Fired him a PM hopefully he can assist :) thanks
    #4
  5. davF
    Offline

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    Anyone else got any ideas?
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,956
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Are you doing with engine on or off, making sure ignition is on.
    #6
  7. davF
    Offline

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Engine off, ignition on.
    #7
  8. davF
    Offline

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 19, 2014]
    What do you think with regards to the equipment number range etc?
    #8
  9. davF
    Offline

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Tried another vcds still the same, would a remap cause the equipment number to be out of spec. Revo remap?
    #9
  10. TillA
    Offline

    TillA Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Isn't this the issue that you had with mine Nigel with the number being too high?
    #10
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,956
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Remove vcds, delete the vcds folder in c: drive, then restart machine, install vcds, then plug cable in, test on car & select save, then go into options area, then user tab & make sure its set as zero's for wsc etc then test.
    #11

Share This Page