1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 8P cruise control retrofit - engine won't code

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by davF, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. davF

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    After fitting the retrofit parts yesterday, today I went to get it coded. Steering control module coded fine but the engine wouldn't code?

    Few screen shots:
    ** standard coding**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step1.png
    **cruise control selected**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step2.png
    **current vs new coding**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step3.png
    ** FAIL - error message**
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28079959/step4.png

    Looks to be that the equipment number is too high and not in range but this couldn't be altered.

    Anyone able to shed some light on this?

    Thanks
     
    #1 davF, Feb 16, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2014
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. davF

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Car in question is a 2011, so the wire isn't required I'm led to believe.
     
  4. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,487
    Suggest you contact NHN as he's our resident in house coding expert; go to his section in forum sponsors.
     
  5. davF

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fired him a PM hopefully he can assist :) thanks
     
  6. davF

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else got any ideas?
     
  7. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,117
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Are you doing with engine on or off, making sure ignition is on.
     
  8. davF

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Engine off, ignition on.
     
  9. davF

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you think with regards to the equipment number range etc?
     
  10. davF

    davF ibiza cupra 177bhp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried another vcds still the same, would a remap cause the equipment number to be out of spec. Revo remap?
     
  11. TillA

    TillA Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Isn't this the issue that you had with mine Nigel with the number being too high?
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,117
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Remove vcds, delete the vcds folder in c: drive, then restart machine, install vcds, then plug cable in, test on car & select save, then go into options area, then user tab & make sure its set as zero's for wsc etc then test.
     

Share This Page