1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

s3 8l vibration under load

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by JoeeS3, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    ive had a look on the forums and cants seem to find anything too similar to this. if i put my food down after about 3500 rpm the car will start juddering, but the whole car vibrates. it doesn't do it on idle or when stationary at all. even with the clutch down or up. could it be any mounts? it doesnt make a difference whether i am turning or not. my car is also lowered 40mm
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Adam P

    Adam P Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    175
    I had a similar issue when i first got my s3. I had sheered my prop shaft bolt. Its worth getting underneath the car and having a look. As you have stated it could be worn engine mounts. Worth checking the dog bone mount bushes as-well.

    And in answer to your question on instagram, yes i am on ASN! :salute:
     
  4. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    thanks and ill have to get underneath on the weekend and check then. i have a feeling its the propshaft. haha hello there :salute:
     
  5. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    also, do you know what size the bolt is
     
  6. Adam P

    Adam P Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    175
    Hello! Sorry mate i don't know the exact size of the bolt, as i got a garage to drill it out and replace. Hopefully someone will pop up shortly and know the exact size.
     
  7. david7m

    david7m Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    34
    Are you sure its not a coil pack failing, they can make the car vibrate, especially if two on the way out.
    Dave
     
  8. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
  9. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    would the coilpack be a constant thing though and not just under load? ive recently changed all coils and sparks. i think it may be a missing bolt cammage. after looking at the picture on your thread
     
  10. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ye i even had mine in at audi as said, but turned out to be the bolt... let us know if you sort it.
     
  11. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    do you know the size of the bolt cammage?
     
  12. Alex C

    Alex C Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,958
    Likes Received:
    240
    a failing coil pack would result in a vibration, and as said, definitely if you have two failing. And it will tend to show up when you put the car under load
     
  13. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    well i have a full spare coil pack at home so will change them over when i'm home to see if it makes a difference
     
  14. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Im sure it was a M10.. i have a spare at home. Ideally you need to find it first and check via etka..
     
  15. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Any progress with this?
     
  16. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    M10 12 point head
     
    cammage08 likes this.
  17. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    DSC_0442.jpg

    Well spot the missing bolt haha? ive ordered a m10 12 point bolt and i think it should be going in today :)
     
  18. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    it also looks like its been out for a while now which is quite worrying as it only started juddering recently.
     
  19. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ouch! Get some locktight on the new bolt... glad you found it!
     
  20. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    will do, taking it down to my friends garage on my lunch break. hopefully have it all sorted by then. you might able to see it from the picture but its not lined up right
     
  21. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes mine had spun slightly when it was running on two bolts.. bit of swinging on the driveshaft should sort it hopefully.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    thanks very much for your help cammage!
     
  24. david7m

    david7m Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    34
    Wouldnt take long to discolour now the salters are out.
    Might be worth replacing all of them while your at it, just in case they have been weakened.
    Dave
     
  25. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    i suppose. well im going to check it is the bolt that is making the noise first then replace the rest if it solves the problem. ive got a funny feeling its something else contributing to the vibration and not just the missing bolt
     
  26. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    I would have got all 3 fresh bolts as they may have been chewed up a bit, theres a lot of torque going through them little bolts
     
  27. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    I feel that I should have now I'm at the garage now. Only have one bolt so going to put that in then order another twotomorrow
     
  28. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    Little update, the bolt would not go in! We tried and tried but it wouldn't line up, also on the way home I drove the car with the handbrake up one click to see if it rattled and it didn't then when I put it back down only.then would it rattle
     
  29. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes when i replaced mine i had to point the bolt a little with a file to help guide it in.
     
  30. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
  31. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    this wouldn't be a haldex issue would it? and cammage was your bolt as far out as mine? the rubber on my propshaft flexible joint didnt seem to line up no matter what!
     
  32. Gary_808

    Gary_808 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Chances are you need a new prop,
    Recently just don't mine,
    Where the bolts out the joint deflects and ruins the sleeve on the prop that goes over he spigot,
    Like this...
    [​IMG]

    You can use the front section off a tt as well that's what I used.
     
  33. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    hi gary the sleeve is okay. its the rubber which isn't allowing it to line up i think it has deformed somehow not allowing the bolt to go in nicely. or the thread may be buggered. ive emailed a few people breaking theyre s3's on ebay asking how much the want for the front flexible joint so hopefully hear back from them.
     
  34. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    would anyone have an idea why it doesn't vibrate when haldex is disabled though? is it just because there is no force on the propshaft so it just spins freely?
     
  35. Gary_808

    Gary_808 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes that's why,
    When the haldex engages it's trying to twist it, an then it's twisting on the two bolts,

    Have you has the shaft off to check it all?

    Cause tbh mine looked ok till I got it off and it's was like the above,
     
  36. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    no i havent had the shaft off. how hard is it to get the shaft off? well at least i know its not the haldex. may keep that handbrake up a notch then as i am not accelerating from low speeds anyway. i will stick it on ramps again tonight and try get that bolt in. if not ill just buy a new flexible joint. how much was it for yours gary and where did you get it from?
     
  37. Gary_808

    Gary_808 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    I managed to get it off by myself on my drive, on axle stands,

    Just dropped the exhaust down,
    And fiddles like hell slotting bits through holes, then take the dog mount off to lever the engine forwards to get it off the spigots,

    2 hours to get it off and 1.5 to get it back on when I got a prop,

    Prop cost me 60quid, off eBay went and collected and he had a choice of about 10 so got the one with the best joint,
     
  38. JoeeS3

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    104
    well ill take the shaft off on the weekend if i cant get the bolt in tonight, so cammage you just filed your bolt a little so it would fit? did the thread stay okay when doing this? i think my actual shaft is okay gary its just that flexible joint thing on the end, the rubber is fxcked in it. ill update later if i get a chance to attempt the bolt later again tonight, was it difficult on axle stands gary?
     
  39. cammage08

    cammage08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes mate.. the hole was just off, so filled a bit from the bolt to help guide it. Ive checked the bolts every 300 mile and are holding strong so far.
     

Share This Page