1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 8L Double DIN conversion

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Routledge, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    I think your swap is a little different, as it appears you already had a double-DIN console in place, and have just bought a fascia adaptor to fit an aftermarket head unit.

    Does look nice though.
    #41
  2. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Feb 2, 2013]
    How you getting on?
    #42
  3. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    Little update, I finally have pretty much all the pieces now. The HU and blanking grommets for either side of the ESP arrived today.

    Have got the sat nav puck aerial too. I assembled it together loosely to make sure that I've not missed out any pieces.

    The only thing that's missing is the hazard light switch now. I thought I'd get away with using my existing pre-facelift one.. But I've just offered up the new fascia and it's actually bigger than the facelift so will be needing one of those too, d'oh!

    I've offered up the sat nav unit I bought, and can see that it's not an 8L one, and will either need some filing down the sides and a strip putting in above it (as informed, and expected to be the case), or will need to swap with an 8L unit.

    Couple pics:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #43
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    Can you not swap the fronts of the hazard switch over like the B5s?
    Saves doing the wiring.

    Can you fit it but wait a month or so while you check eBay and spam forums looking for a swap or a proper 8L unit and then sell your B5 unit for a profit?
    #44
  5. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    Hopefully Scott. I'll have to see what the new switch looks like when I get it!

    Im tempted to wait till I can get an 8L unit before starting anything.
    #45
  6. lloydie1
    Offline

    lloydie1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 5, 2013]
    #46
  7. Dohcwp
    Offline

    Dohcwp Setting the Standard

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Hi guys, im new to the forum, i am also planing to upgrade my prefacelift console to a double din style unit but i would like to keep my Climate control unit, I have a dvd headunit fitted st present but its not flush and it irritates me does any one know where i can source seat leon 1m double din as it has the same dash as the a3 and it fits with minimal modifications.

    my current centre console

    [​IMG]

    what im looking for (Seat leon 1m centre console)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    apologies for the thread hijack, i didnt want to create a duplicate thread on the same subject
    #47
  8. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 4, 2013]
    Thought I'd give a little update as have been fettling over the last week or two at slow pace.

    After scouting the 'bay for ages and not being able to find an RNS-D for 8L I decided to 'make' the one I already have fit.

    After some careful sanding with a more aggressive paper, and then fine grit to smooth it out, I got it to fit.

    It's not immaculate, but looks relatively good and I could always replace it with an 8L unit at a later date if one pops up.

    [​IMG]

    The only real issue is that (as I was warned) it left a gap at the top here:

    [​IMG]

    I was tempted to get a thin piece of aluminium and fit it at the top, but saved the hassle and instead opted to trim a piece of leather I had and fold a seam and fit it in place instead:

    [​IMG]

    Again we aren't talking perfection, but it looks presentable enough, and later on if I do get an 8L unit I'll just swap it over.

    Oh, and if anyone has a knack for getting radio codes without paying for the privilege I'd be grateful if they'd send me a PM with mine :)

    Here's the code:

    [​IMG]

    ~James
    #48
  9. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    ooo and me. I got 2-3 units that needs codes.

    Routledge, I was thinking about you the other day.
    I should have given you my broken faceplate to cut apart, you would have removed the broken bits and i'd end up with a perfect faceplate. :(

    Looks like a tidy job though mate.
    How different are the B5 facelift top trim panel to your A3 unit?
    Cause ours is longer by about the amount you need.
    #49
  10. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    So I phoned up Audi today trying to get the radio code and apparently their process is to get the chassis number of the vehicle and submit the request alongside the serial number of the unit.

    I explained the situation and the guy was pretty cool, and basically said to give him the chassis number of my car and the serial of the unit and keep fingers crossed that its right. If it comes back with a result I can always just check the code against my existing unit's code and if it matches then I'll be 90% sure that I've been given the one for the single DIN already in the car.

    He didn't mention a cost either which is promising, just said when he gets 5 minutes he'll fire it over and see what comes back and took my mobile number.
    #50
  11. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    Winner! Got the code, and it was free!
    #51
  12. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    Dude, amazing.

    ask him if he can get any more. lol
    #52
  13. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 6, 2013]
    I've just spent an hour pulling out the pre facelift single DIN unit, and then offered up the face lift double DIN.

    Everything is different. EVERYTHING.

    Only about 10% of the plugs are the same.. I'll take some pictures of how silly wrong it is and upload them when I'm done putting the single back in.
    #53
  14. Routledge
    Offline

    Routledge Wind Deflector Trend-setter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    I took a few pics as I was plodding along.

    The old console removed:

    [​IMG]

    The moment I realised things were probably not going to fit:

    [​IMG]

    Now for a list of plugs that wouldn't fit..

    The cigarette lighter power supply plug:

    [​IMG]

    The pre facelift plugs at the top (left to right: ESP, hazard light, rear demister)

    [​IMG]

    The facelift plugs (ESP, hazard light, rear demister part of climate control unit on facelift)

    [​IMG]

    Given the facelift slots at the top.. This is the ESP plug that would need to go in it:

    [​IMG]

    Pre facelift, and facelift in the background - Climate control. Please note the extra slot on the lift for the facelift.. This is where the de mister plug needs to go.

    [​IMG]

    This is the plug that's meant to fit in there!

    [​IMG]

    I was going to put the unit in and just wire up the things that don't work later.. Until I realised that the following wouldn't work:

    - Rear Demister
    - ESP button
    - Cigarette lighter

    [​IMG]

    The only thing that would work would be the hazard light switch, as the plug is the same.. and the head unit, once splicing in a safe feed.

    On this basis.. I put the single DIN back in:

    [​IMG]

    I then took the car out for a ragging to teach it a lesson for being a PITA.. and it retalliated by blowing a coil pack:

    [​IMG]


    I'm now firing on 3 cylinders till this afternoon when I replace it.

    FML.
    #54
  15. xapt3r5
    Offline

    xapt3r5 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 12, 2013]
    Hey guys, I'm trying hard to find a A3/S3 8L fascia adaptor for a 2 DIN aftermarket radio I have, but I just can't find one, anywhere. I know for sure that you can actually get one, cause I've seen a couple of pictures over the internet (like the ones above) where there are 8L A3's with aftermarket rádios installed. My car is a 8L S3 facelift from May/2003, I currently have a Symphony II unit in place. Can you people point me in the right direction, please? Sorry for the off topic. Good luck with your work...
    #55
  16. jack_davey
    Offline

    jack_davey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2013]
    I also need above
    #56
  17. Platty
    Offline

    Platty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 25, 2013]
    I'm just going down the same road swapping a single DIN to a double DIN on a facelift A3.

    I've bought an A4 adaptor face plate which will require some fettling to shoehorn in. The AC controller I'll need to change, but I'll first see if the sides can be trimmed to match the curve where the cubby hole compartment sits, then work out if it can be fixed back in.

    I went for a Kenwood DNX520BT (with square edges) as it has the twat nav built in, can be colour coded (nothing worse than a multi coloured dashboard) and is touch screen. A fairly good package all in all. there's also a reverse camera to fit and then swap the speakers for a pair of Infinity Components up front and possibly a pair of speakers in the rear quarters in custom pods.
    #57
  18. Drewvic
    Offline

    Drewvic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Nov 25, 2013]
    have one of these for sale if anyone wants one??
    #58
  19. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Nov 25, 2013]
    Facelift centre console? Or Leon 1m?
    #59
  20. Drewvic
    Offline

    Drewvic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Nov 25, 2013]
    #60
  21. Cj_sat69
    Offline

    Cj_sat69 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 14, 2013]
    Mate i spent about 3 hours today trying to find a way for making it all fit, im in exactly the same position as you. Its so fuc king annoying. The only way around it is to probably get the loom plugs of a facelift and to cut and solder every single 1. Im just going to have to try and sell my double din screen and goto a flip one instead unless someone can shed any light. Waste of time and money and now ive gotta try sell my double din screen and try look for a half decent flip 1. Not a happy bunny at all!
    #61
  22. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Dec 14, 2013]
    I think the only way is a Leon double din. I don't fancy cutting the wires, not worth it'
    #62
  23. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Dec 15, 2013]
    #63
    Cj_sat69 and Gops like this.
  24. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Dec 15, 2013]
    Spot on jay! What a good find!
    #64
    Jay A3 likes this.
  25. Cj_sat69
    Offline

    Cj_sat69 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 15, 2013]
    That is a wicked find, ill have to try out the climate control stuff hes shown there. Fingers crossed it will work.
    #65
  26. Munch
    Offline

    Munch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    Got home early from work today so thought id give this a crack.
    im not doing the double din conversion, but just pre to facelift conversion.
    Problem I've found is in the a4 post, it shows the illumination pin missing from the 12 pin plug......mine is already there, but still won't illuminate.
    Ive got a mate with a facelift s3 who has kindly said i can borrow it for the day and to check and log what each wire does.
    As soon as i have an answer, ill let you all know.
    Its purely the ac panel thats causing me headache. Hazzard is like for like swap, demister switch just needs 2 wires extended, and ash tray light will be easy too.
    #66
  27. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    Did you switch your lights on to illuminate it?
    #67
  28. Munch
    Offline

    Munch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    Yes fella

    I've got a horrible feeling the ac panel I've bought is faulty, so will plug it into my mates s3 when i get hold of it
    #68
  29. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    Bump

    Anyone got any further on the AC unit issue? My pre facelift AC unit works. Swapped the facelift one over and nothing... No power no illumination. I also thought it could be the unit may be faulty so I borrowed another one that I know works. Still no joy...
    #69
  30. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Did you pick out pin 6 on connector A for illumination?
    #70
  31. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Pin 6 is already populated with a wire. There's no power at all to it.
    #71
  32. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Both Hvac units. Looks exactly the same apart from the rear demister plug on the face lift unit.

    Facelift on the bottom
    Preface lift on top

    [​IMG]

    From left to right
    Plug D = 16 pin
    Plug A = 12 pin
    Plug B = 20 pin
    Plug C = 16 pin

    Scottb5 has had a look for the wiring diagrams on Elsa win for me but we are struggling. Plugs may be the same but pins look like they may be routed differently which is strange as the b5s are a similar setup and they were plug and play... Can anyone shed some light on what pin is what for both units?
    #72
  33. AudiA3V5
    Offline

    AudiA3V5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Is the process/setup the same in the S3 and A3?

    I have just bought an A3 and need to clean up and refresh the interior a bit and would like to Double Din it as well, so this is all quite interesting.

    When was the S3/A3 facelifted? Or was it just the S3 facelifted?

    Mine is on an '02 plate, which is quite late I believe for the 8l chassis so I am assuming would be facelift?
    #73
  34. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Yours would be a facelift. I think they were from 2001 to 2003...

    I think yours would be much simpler to go from single din to double din. New double din cage and new lower hvac unit - plug and play as your wiring is the same
    #74
  35. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    I got no idea why yours is so hard mate.

    Its stupid.

    B5, which looks like it uses the same units with different faces, same plugs is just a simple plug and play.
    I can't see why they would completely change the wiring on a A3.
    #75
  36. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Me either. Thanks again for your help yesterday. I think I will need to identify each pin starting with the power and seeing if both are located in the same place....
    #76
  37. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    You got the diagrams but I don't understand where the other plugs are.
    It only lists some and no idea what the 10 or 17 pin plugs are.
    #77
  38. Jay A3
    Offline

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Yeh I'm going to get someone who knows electrics better than me to see if he can make sense of the diagrams
    #78
  39. AudiA3V5
    Offline

    AudiA3V5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Cool, cheers mate. Let's hope so. Anyone know part or model numbers on the lower HVAC units? Just to make it easier to find on eBay. Lol
    #79
  40. Mr Footlong
    Offline

    Mr Footlong Stalking Kate Beckinsale

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Guys, I have a brand new double DIN cage assembly available and the correct HVAC unit for it (albeit with beat to hell buttons sadly, took me 9 months just to get this) that I don't need as I never got around to doing the conversion and am selling the car.

    8L0 858 005 A - Cage

    8L0 820 043L - HVAC
    #80

Share This Page