1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 (2010) Launch Control not workin

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by bdavbdav, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. bdavbdav

    bdavbdav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey All,

    Just picked up my new S3 DSG last friday, loving it so far! Tried Launch control in the recommended way on my old A3 1.8T DSG, all that did was pull against the brake - took it to dealer, and was told the particular 09 DSG box didn't support it. Fair game.

    Tried the same thing on the new S3 (Long press on ESP (long press doesn't seem to make any difference on S3 - no ASR option it seems), S-Mode, brake hard down, rev to 3.5k), and get exactly the same thing. I'm sure I'm doing everything in the recommended way - is there anything I could be missing?

    Cheers,

    Ben
     
    #1 bdavbdav, Aug 29, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
    jsh likes this.
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    47
    It works on our MY10 170TDi mate, you got to be in Sport mode with gearbox, traction off, foot brake on, rev up and GO!!
     
  4. Silky-S3

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    336
    Yep, works on mine as well. Try this, in neutral, turn off ESP, Foot on brake, shiftt to S or M, wait 1 sec, floor it. Should hold around 3.5k....
     
  5. bdavbdav

    bdavbdav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Many thanks - All working now, think I may not have been stamping on the brake hard enough!
     
  6. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    127
    Not a very nice thing to do to your engine, clutches,gearbox drive train or uj's :no: if you are ever going to snap a cam belt that would do it IMHO :)
     
  7. fangio

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    155
    's funny. My 140 Tdi hand book says 3.2 engines only!:unsure:
     
  8. bdavbdav

    bdavbdav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes the details on which have it seem to be different everywhere you look - seems dealers don't generally know either.

    I don't really plan on using it at all - Just wanted to try it once! Seemed very controlled, almost as if it wasn't pushing as hard as it could be.
     

Share This Page