1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-Tronic Sport Mode Weird?

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Rexus, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. Rexus

    Rexus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have a 1.4 COD S-Tronic and have been mainly using the Gearbox in auto "D" mode the past few weeks as I ran the car in. In the past couple of days, I've used the "S" mode at times and as expected it changes up at higher revs and significantly changes the car's performance. However, what I find strange is when I've accelerated to around 70mph and then continue to drive at that speed the gearbox stays in 5th rather than changing to 7th gear as I would have expected, obviously affecting economy. Anyone else have this experience?
     
  2. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,097
    Likes Received:
    981
    Surely that's just "S" mode as it's ready to go at any moment, drop down for overtake, power way past 70 at as fastest time as possible, etc
     
    SlightlyYapper likes this.
  3. RobH_S3

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    187
    S mode is supposed to put you at optimum revs at all times. It doesn't know your cruising at 70 or hammering it around a track. Personally never use it much prefer manual mode.
     
    SlightlyYapper and TonyH38 like this.
  4. Rexus

    Rexus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yeah, I agree with all that, it's what I would have expected in Sport mode, what I would like to do is leave it in that mode but have top gear selected at high speeds when not accelerating to maximise economy, then have the gears drop down as soon as I open the throttle again. At the moment to achieve that I have to use S mode if I want to accelerate quickly then switch to D mode for economy when cruising then switch back to S mode if I want to accelerate quickly again, a bit of a pain really.
     
  5. RobH_S3

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    187
    Have you tried putting it in dynamic mode but changing it from d to s. That holds gear a bit longer than say comfort.
     
  6. Rexus

    Rexus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    29
    No, I'll have to try that, have it in Auto at the moment.
     
  7. RobH_S3

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    187
    Its a bit more keen to change down as well when you need too. I always have it in that setting when just cruising.
     
  8. ColMariner

    ColMariner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    37
    In my experience still accelerates quickly wether in S or D, as if you press accelerator right down will drop you to lowest possible gear and if you keep foot hard down will only change before limiter. Hardly a pain either just a quick flick of the gear stick, did you drive everywhere in 1st when you had a manual :whistle2:
     
    #8 ColMariner, Apr 14, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  9. Rexus

    Rexus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    29
    When I had a manual, I expected to use the gearshift and clutch; when I drive an automatic I expect not to have to, that's why I chose it this time.
    The point you make about the kick down is a good one, I'd forgotten about that will have to try it.
     
  10. ColMariner

    ColMariner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    37
    Excuse my sense of humour, they really are a great gearbox, dont think will go back to manual, just takes some time getting used to them. I hardly ever put mine in sport and only generally use paddles at roundabouts as find coming out of them in 5th gear a bit annoying if its left to its own devices.
     
  11. Cumbrian_bob

    Cumbrian_bob Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    103
    Makes perfect sense, and sounds much like the A1 Stronic box, which i think is the same 7 speed dry clutch unit. I am pretty sure the A1 even states its a 6 gear in S mode and 7 gear in D mode. when driving with full accelarion sport mode it can do its top speed 140 with 6 gears so why bother using all 7 if its in sport mode. The 7th gear desienged for fuel economy wouldnt be much good in a sport mode.

    The rev ranges are higher in S mode, changing at the red line and not dropping to low. It would be interesting to know if in S mode if it ever lets the the engine run with less cylinders, in theory they should always be on ready for immidiate use as Sport mode would suggest by its name
     
  12. andywil13

    andywil13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    62
    I agree with this. I find that when slowing down for a give way it's still in Maybe 4th, whereas I would have preselected 2nd in a manual. I simply switch to sport mode at this point and then back to D after completing the maneuver. Same for roundabouts etc
     
  13. Pulp84

    Pulp84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    739
    Yes I do this sometimes as find that you may pull out of a junction and the box is in 4th and out of no where you will get some numpty coming at you way too fast and you have to put your foot down. Only issue with this is sometimes my S-Tronic gets a bit confused and it takes a couple of seconds to sort its life out kicking down etc (down to 2nd which would have been more appropriate).

    Annoying but S mode works fine in these situations so it's fine.
     
  14. Joetidman

    Joetidman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    377
    Although I've just found out that in an S3 4th is just fine in that situation....:)
     

Share This Page