1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-Tronic and a weird 'no gear selected' problem at traffic islands

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by RPB, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. RPB
    Offline

    RPB Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    I have the S-Tronic gearbox on my S3 and have had the following issue I would say around 3 times since owning this car from new.
    I do have a Shark ECU map and a Shark DSG map.
    I am in M mode, coming up to a traffic roundabout, as the traffic is not moving I do not manually change down gears as I know when I stop, the DSG will select the 1st or 2nd gear for me.
    Whilst slowing down the traffic starts to move so I am now rolling at say around 5 to 10 mph at this point. I press the pedal to 'go' and the DSG is effectively in neutral and all it does is rev up and I go nowhere cus it is not even in any gear at all! Now this is quite dangerous and indeed frightening should any car appear on the roundabout whilst I am 'stuck' in neutral frantically trying to get moving. Its so weird! If I do not select a gear in M then why is it not just staying in 3rd or 4th then? How and why it gets into neutral amazes me.
    I then find myself pulling the paddles trying to get it to sort it's sh*t out so i can get moving again.
    Anyone else had this before?
    Regards,
    Rich.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 26, 2014]

  3. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    110
  4. mjr901
    Offline

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    534
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    mine has done the same. prob 3 times in 8-9 months. 2012 S3. S-Tronic done 9.5k. No dsg map but I do have a shark ecu map.

    To clarify, it happened before I had the remap too. so it's not a "shark" thing.

    It gets confused, it's a computer afterall. but perhaps a glitch that Audi need to sort as more and more people discovers it.
    #3
  5. RPB
    Offline

    RPB Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    Thx for the info folks! :)
    #4
  6. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    378
    [Jul 26, 2012]
    yep! there was a recall for just this scenario ...

    [​IMG]

    not sure if they'll wipe your map when updating the ECU.
    #5

Share This Page