1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running the abs pump to bleed the brakes

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by fabtdi, May 16, 2010.

  1. fabtdi
    Offline

    fabtdi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2010]
    I cant get my abs pump to cycle via vagcom, ive tried the 2 ways suggested on the ross-tech website but it wont cycle the pump, The abs still works fine so it cant be a faulty pump? anyone got any ideas??

    its a late 2002 a4 tdi

    thanx!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 23, 2014]

  3. fabtdi
    Offline

    fabtdi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Garfie
    Offline

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2010]
    Ive never done it on the A4 but when I did it on my Mk4 Golf I initiated the ABS bleed process on VAG-COM which then instructed me to press and hold the brake pedal down. Doing this made the pump cut in.

    There is another way to get the pump to cut in. That's by doing an output test for the ABS system in VAG-COM. Not the right way to do the ABS bleed procedure but would at least get the pump to cut in.
    #3
  5. fabtdi
    Offline

    fabtdi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2010]
    yea on my bora it was like that, on this one even the output tests dont do anything :O its wierd
    #4
  6. Garfie
    Offline

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2010]
    You sure it cuts in when you lock the brakes when driving.

    I'm sure I did an output test on mine and it worked.
    #5
  7. fabtdi
    Offline

    fabtdi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2010]
    Yup it deffo kicks in when you brake hard when its wet output tests dont do anything like they did on my bora
    #6

Share This Page