1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running a new turbo in

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by A3-Lee, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. A3-Lee
    Offline

    A3-Lee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 26, 2013]
    Right the ko3s is going on tomorrow so just wondered if there's anything I need to do to "run it in" obviously I know prime it full of oil and not rape it straight away cheers lee
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. s33nyboy12
    Offline

    s33nyboy12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    169
    [Apr 26, 2013]
    Rape it lol!

    made me chuckle
    #2
  4. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    [Apr 26, 2013]
    Always let it cool down after long and hard drives. If its totally new youl get many years of hard abuse out of it. Good luck
    #3
  5. ShaunS3
    Offline

    ShaunS3 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    116
    [Apr 27, 2013]
    ALWAYS warm up and cool down correctly.

    I use an old school turbo timer aka 5 minute window for warm up/cool down. In this time i will either time it via playing one or two songs on my ipod/parrot kit or have a quick look on Facebook/ASN on my mobile. You don't need a fancy gizmo to time your turbo ;)
    #4
    superkarl likes this.
  6. A3-Lee
    Offline

    A3-Lee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 27, 2013]
    Yea I know the warm up an cooling down is essential I already have a turbo timer fitted so time to start fitting :)
    #5
  7. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Apr 27, 2013]
    Go bananas :thumbsup:
    #6
  8. Chris_38
    Offline

    Chris_38 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 27, 2013]
    easy mate I've literally jus started to swap my turbos over as well , I've got it all inbotled jus can't get it out the bottom by the drive shaft have u got yours off an out yet if so can u tell me which way ? Many thanks
    #7
  9. A3-Lee
    Offline

    A3-Lee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 27, 2013]
    I removed the mani and pulled it thought the top mate easy
    #8

Share This Page