1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running a new turbo in

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by A3-Lee, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. A3-Lee

    A3-Lee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    163
    Right the ko3s is going on tomorrow so just wondered if there's anything I need to do to "run it in" obviously I know prime it full of oil and not rape it straight away cheers lee
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. s33nyboy12

    s33nyboy12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    190
    Rape it lol!

    made me chuckle
     
  4. superkarl

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8,322
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Always let it cool down after long and hard drives. If its totally new youl get many years of hard abuse out of it. Good luck
     
  5. ShaunS3

    ShaunS3 Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    163
    ALWAYS warm up and cool down correctly.

    I use an old school turbo timer aka 5 minute window for warm up/cool down. In this time i will either time it via playing one or two songs on my ipod/parrot kit or have a quick look on Facebook/ASN on my mobile. You don't need a fancy gizmo to time your turbo ;)
     
    superkarl likes this.
  6. A3-Lee

    A3-Lee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    163
    Yea I know the warm up an cooling down is essential I already have a turbo timer fitted so time to start fitting :)
     
  7. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,358
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Go bananas :thumbsup:
     
  8. Chris_38

    Chris_38 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    easy mate I've literally jus started to swap my turbos over as well , I've got it all inbotled jus can't get it out the bottom by the drive shaft have u got yours off an out yet if so can u tell me which way ? Many thanks
     
  9. A3-Lee

    A3-Lee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    163
    I removed the mani and pulled it thought the top mate easy
     

Share This Page