1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RS4 Engine start button on S3

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by klik, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    But you still need the key to be able to operate the car. someone above said they would like the idea of not needing it.

    J.
    #41
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I think you should re-read my post.
    #42
  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here you go... http://stores.ebay.co.uk/CarGravo
    I've got his garage door switch, very nicely made, totally OEM.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    #43
  4. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why?
    #44
  5. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Nevermind
    #45
  6. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some of the new Renault sports ( not sure about other brands ) have a keyless entry ( a piece of plastic roughly the size of a credit card but thicker ) it senses the card on you and you can open the door, BUT you still need to insert the car to be able to start the car!

    Now imagine if we could go one step further so you get literally a credit card that goes in your wallet , that senses you when you approach the car and starts when you press the start button!!!! all with your credit card key still in your wallet firmly in your pocket!

    That will be decent!:yes:

    p
    #46
  7. boggysv
    Offline

    boggysv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sounds like the Keyless Go cards in mercs a few years ago. Heard they discontinued it and used fobs instead?
    #47
  8. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    It's certainly possible!!
    #48
  9. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3

    Never mind? Is it because I was replying to this post about not needing a key at all:

    And then you replied saying that you wouldn't need to use a key apart from disengaging the steering lock? (I'm assuming thats what you meant by your post) Which implies you do need to use a key to start the car. When synthdood is talking about the key less entry systems available on the A5

    J.
    #49
  10. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    Merc, BM and Audi offer it, it's an option on the A5. Approach the car and it unlocks, hop in and press the starter. No need to put a key in the ignition.

    J.
    #50
  11. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats where it's at!:thumbsup:

    p
    #51
  12. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'd gladly swap the 'start' button for a conventional key, in my car.
    I still can't get used to it, and I'm left handed!
    #52
  13. L60N
    Offline

    L60N Guest

    Cheers John!!

    Just had a peep on ebay and he doesnt have much on at the mo.

    Though I did note one of his items desciption says "Der absolute Hingucker!" I laughed as my mind translated it as "The Dogs bolocks" rofl.

    *Correction, he has **** loads, just click on the 8P button chaps!!


    JohnS3 = Legend :arco:

    Also the seller has put a neat install guid on uchoobe:

    [ytv]w8pG__GMzAU[/ytv]
    #53
  14. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yes I knew you still need a key, you basically repeated my post. But it's not the steering lock I was refering to but the immobliser.

    But anyway.
    #54
  15. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this fella make them to order?

    I wouldn't mind a Haldex one for when or if i get the GenII controller!

    I'd just want 3 red LED's on it to show which 4WD mode i was in, maybe Haldex written on it too!

    The switch that comes with the kit is like the wing mirror switch i don't want that hanging off my dash!

    p
    #55
  16. S3 Big Andy
    Offline

    S3 Big Andy Stealth Beast Baby Yay

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want a glowing nob! how do I get one?? ;)
    #56
  17. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Rub it.
    #57
  18. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    He does make custom covers for switches, however they rely on the audi switches behind them. I use the tyre pressure switch for my garage door opener, which is press to make and release to break. You'd have to check what type of switch is required for your genII module.
    #58
  19. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just checked ETKA and the "compartment with cigarette lighter" 8E0863284E5PR slots directly into the hole where your existing cigarette lighter is. The start button then fits into the remaining gap.

    I'm seriously considering this, if only to allow me to hide the controller for my Nokia 610 behind the panel. The start button would make a nice feature, even if it wasn't used.
    #59
  20. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    174
    I want a red ring around my knob.:sm4:
    #60
  21. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Be careful what you wish for... :scared2:
    #61
  22. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    The megane did this when it came out in 2002. And NO the key doesn't have to be in the slot as my cousin had one then and has a 197 now.
    #62
  23. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
    #63
  24. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    :sadlike: got it wrong then. Whats the R26 like compared to your S3? Does it have better handling due to the lsd.
    #64
  25. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
    #65
  26. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sent my dealer a mail last night to get a price for the parts:

    8E0 905 217 - (Push button for starter system) £54.99
    8E0 863 284E 5PR - (compartment for centre console with cigarette lighter and switch mounting). £45.83

    I've asked him to check if there is a power connector available for the bottom of the start button.
    #66
  27. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    the key didnt need to be in my 05 BMW to drive it either... it needed to be in it to verity the start, but you could stop, take it out and then press the start button again and then drive off....

    Dunno why you'd want to do this, or if its a general bug... but that was the way it was. Also with it being on the left, it was a pain, but then I got used to it, and everytime I got in a different car Id have the keys in my left hand... of course now I need some more brain training to get the key back to my right side!! :rtfm:
    #67
  28. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just checked with an Irish dealer and the parts are

    start button - €83
    console - €110

    The total price of the parts in the UK is €126, so I'm going to order them from my dealer in Belfast.
    #68
  29. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    eh?? Have I got up late? Isnt it more expensive to order from Belfast???
    #69
  30. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    nope - it is costing me 126 euros to buy them in Belfast, or 193 euros down here.
    #70
  31. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    check, Belfast = UK, Irish = S.Ireland.
    #71
  32. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    HAHAHAH this is confusing...
    #72
  33. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok I've finally caught up as well...
    #73
  34. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    How do you plan to wire it in Kontraband?
    #74
  35. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    staz, Im not... MarkQ is.
    #75
  36. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Oh yes you're right. Now I'm getting confused for no reason. This thread is jinxed.

    So.....MarkQ......same question.

    :jester:
    #76
  37. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
  38. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    Who is this MarkQ chap?
    #78
  39. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    The main reason for buying the bits is so I can hide my Nokia 610 controller. I'm sure I can rig power up to the button for the illumination easily enough.

    The dealer wasn't sure what connectors were needed, and I couldn't work it out from ETKA. When I have the button I'll be able to see what connectors it needs and then attempt to hook it into the ignition system (maybe!).

    If I can't get it to work I can always try to bluff my passengers by turning the key at the same time as pressing the button!
    #79
  40. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    you could always save your fuel and bluff them by making engine noises...
    #80

Share This Page