1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RS3 Cluster in my a3

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by loudchris53, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. loudchris53

    loudchris53 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    6
    I want to upgrade to white dis and am thinking about installing an rs3 cluster in my car. If i buy the cluster and get a technician at audi to recode it and fit it into the car will it work properly, i know a white dis conversion has been done but was it easy?

    Chris
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    42
    Might work, not 100% sure although I don't believe you'll get the needle sweeps
     
  4. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    130
    why would you want to do this ?
     
  5. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,210
    Likes Received:
    2,480
    Rather than buying the RS3 cluster which could be hugely expensive, I'd just buy a white DIS cluster from a write off or other vehicle.

    RS3 DIS will have boost facilities which aren't likely to work on your car, and whilst they look nice may be a lot of outlay for marginal gain. Better to look for S or S-Line ones on the bay????
     
    RedDejavu likes this.
  6. loudchris53

    loudchris53 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok, i wanted to do it because it looks cool but i suppose i won't have all the functionality so might swell get a standard one

    Chris
     
  7. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    328
    Is there any chance to activate boost feature in S3 at all? Would be nice to see turbo spooling:D
     
  8. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,076
    Likes Received:
    287
    White DIS would work perfectly and would give you a bang up to date look, without the pricetag of the RS3 item, which you wouldn't be able to make full use of anyway. White DIS FTW! :wub: x
     
  9. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,210
    Likes Received:
    2,480
    I'd love to think it would. I'm sure the boost reading will be electronically fed rather than vacuum on the RS3, so you would think it should be possible, but Nige is more likely to know as I'm just guessing.

    Was toying with getting a pod and a gauge for this car as boost gauge is an essential tool for monitoring the health of your car when running bigger boost, only problem is it's a dead giveaway that your car is running mods when you rock up for a service!
     
  10. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    130
    Warren

    with a huge CAI and a loud fart from the diverter valve every time you change gear the pod is the least of your worries re: service :)
     
  11. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,210
    Likes Received:
    2,480
    The huge CAI may look far more OEM very soon! Plans are afoot!
     
  12. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    130
    Keep me informed :) I would love a CAI but just not the ones available at the moment.
     
  13. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    328
    Does anyone know when new ITG CAI is to be released?
     
  14. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    The boost gauge doesnt work when fitted to an S3, I read on another forum a guy asking if anybody knew how to get it to work as he had fitted the RS3 cluster to his.

    A newer version of Elsa would be handy to work out how its done, not sure how new Mr N's is :p
     
  15. Cruiser89

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    220
    Warren... Get a Liquid box. Iv got one waiting to fit...

    Even though it's called Liquid TT they do an A3 version. Electronic readout/graphing of all the OBD shiz :)

    Race Diagnostics Ltd - Home
     
  16. S.

    S. Well-Known Member
    Team Ibis TFSI Owners Group quattro Audi S3 Manual

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    473
    what about torque app and bluetooth obd2 adapter? i got the adapter for 10€ so i think it's a inexpensive mod. it reads bunch of stuff like 0-60, 1/4 mile time, boost, air intake temp, exhaust temp, mass air flow, and best of all you can clear DTC's.
     
  17. Cruiser89

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    220
    That's pretty cool... Have you got a link?
     
  18. Gavin0478

    Gavin0478 Active Member
    Team Daytona Team V8 VCDS Map User quattro Audi Q7 TDi

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    37
    its a shame you cant use the bluetooth obd thing or something from the obd to the ami interface and run it throung the media as like a video stream.
    thus meaning could have it all on the nav screen
     
  19. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    I suspect the rs3 boost display etc is related to ecu aswell given this is where mapping is done, speculative but stands to reason & I also believe its all network based signalling to the cluster, although of course sensors within the said boost pipes signal back to the ecu initially as per our cars, I reckon you'd have to get a proper mapper who can read ecu's fully to try & decipher if there is a specific table to set to enable the signal back to dash, its a big job for such imho small gain.

    There maybe a simple adaptation channel setting required, but you'd need an actual rs3 & a car with an rs3 cluster fitted to play with codes to see if it can be enabled.
     
  20. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    130
    You could always ask the guy in Halfords ? :)
     
  21. denraf

    denraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is actually possible when working with a small PC. One of the smallest that I know is the fit-PC. Let it work with a bluetooth/USB odb reader, and you can feed the graphical output from the pc to the AMI.
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Gavin0478

    Gavin0478 Active Member
    Team Daytona Team V8 VCDS Map User quattro Audi Q7 TDi

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    37
    could you fo it with a modern windows based smartphone?
     
  24. S.

    S. Well-Known Member
    Team Ibis TFSI Owners Group quattro Audi S3 Manual

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    473
  25. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Are you insulting where I got my training :scared2: :jester:
     
  26. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    130
    The fact that you can read and write makes you over qualified for Halfords TBH :)
     
  27. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    ;lk;dkx[pd klwdjwsa;ldk wqd;lw[dlLD
     
  28. nally

    nally MPG the new BPH

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    34
  29. poli84

    poli84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    57
    Can you please do a write up of your thoughts on this once you have it installed.
    Looks interesting.
    I wonder how accurate the power/0-6o times, etc are...?
     

Share This Page