1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Routing amp and speaker/RCA cables?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Foxmeister, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    For those who have done it, which routes did you find best???

    1)Im looking at routing the power cable thru the ECU into the cabin, is there any other better ways???

    2)Looking at the speaker and RCA routes, there is original wiring down both sides of the car, better to take these down the middle of car or do you not pick up anything from the original wiring down the sides?

    Ideally i was wanting to run speaker/RCA down one side and the power supply/remote down the opposite to limit removing more trim and possibly carpet, has everybody else went this route? If so, which side with what?

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    I've not done but I've routed cables for rear electric windows. Do I qualify for offering advice?

    I'd say its the best way. So much space in the bulk head where the ECU cables go.
    Straight through to back of the car as well.

    make little difference if your using insulated cables.
    I've ran all my cables this way and never noticed any issues.

    I've not done this, can't offer much.
    But if your going to use the ECU hole for the power cable, I'd keep the power cable going that way and send all speakers going down the other side of the car.
    Well, RCAs any way.
    Speaker cable I normally run is down each side of the car for that side. So drivers side speakers on the drivers side and passenger side down the passenger side.
    Unless your uber paranoid about any form of interference with the speaker cables, you could run all speakers down the middle and branch them off for each side.

    I'm tempted to do that for mine, If I can be assed. I might just use the standard cables. I wont be doing it to win any competitions.

    Cheers.[/QUOTE]
    #2
  4. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    [/QUOTE]
    Permission Granted!!!! lol

    I was going for the power down the drivers side as it already enters here via ECU route, but having looked at the passenger kickwell where the speakers/RCA would be routed there are a lot of relays etc that have a loom here, lots of power for interference possibly. The RCA's i have are actually screened so shouldnt really pick up the interference, but im just doing the "measure twice, cut once" policy, hate doing same job twice!
    #3
  5. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    I can't really see them kicking out that much power or interference to effect shielded RCA or enough for you to really notice.

    The only thing i'd possible be a bit worried about causing interference is when the fan motor is on.
    #4
  6. tdia4
    Offline

    tdia4 TDIPOWARRR

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    When I had mine in I did the power wires through the ECU into the car, then ran the power wire and remote cable down the drivers side and the RCA cables down the passenger side, always done it this way and if im running speaker cables I always run them down with the RCA cables.
    #5
  7. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    Mine has the main cable through the ECU box and up the o/s with the remote wire. RCA and speaker wires up the n/s. No interference :) 3 amplifiers, components up front, 2-ways in the shelf and 2 12" subs in the boot :)
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    I've done the same.

    25mm welding cable thru the ECU box and down the drivers side sill, then two RCA's to the amps and the speaker cable from the amp to the front speakers all running down the passenger side.

    I did it that way because its easier, rather than anything to do with interference tbh. Power cable drops right thru and along the drivers side. RCA's and speaker wires are easier routing round the glovebox rather than trying to get them safely round the foot controls and steering column etc.
    #7
  9. dest
    Offline

    dest Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    Mine has power cable through ECU box too, Ive then run all cables down the drivers side.
    Ive done that on every car Ive had over the last 10 years and never had a single problem with interferance.
    I dont see the point of taking off the trim on both sides when it can all go down one!
    Its also easier to remove the trim under the drivers side than the glovebox
    #8
  10. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    Cool, cheers guys.

    Already started putting the RCA's n speakers down pass side today, will continue with power when i get some longer stuff, mine used to be in a Nova and isnt quite reaching the Audi's boot! Least its started!:)

    Quick pic of the hardware

    [​IMG]

    Removed a Kenwood 10 disc changer that was previously installed, with changer cable, will stick it on ebay most likely but let me know if anybody wants it. Didnt see it work so unsure it does but looked fine, fitted well.
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2011
    #9
  11. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    Alpine V12 and a Phoenix Gold, Nice ;)
    #10
  12. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 27, 2011]
    Yes sir, old stuffs the best!!!:)
    #11
  13. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    You cracking out the fibreglass for the sub enclosure?
    #12
  14. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    No chance Kev, wasted far too much time on this build, having a custom unit built as we speak, should be here in a day or 2!

    Took some effort for me to start stripping to wire it, stood and looked at it over an hour Sun before deciding **** it, get on with it! lol.
    #13
  15. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    Hehe, i'll be going fibreglass with mine, will post some pics when i get round to it.
    #14
  16. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    274
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    4 RCAs down pass side and 4 10wg speaker wires and power from ECU box down driverside.

    No problems with crosstalk for me.

    Decided not to go active this time
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
    #15
  17. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    Aragorn, Where you putting your sub?

    The 6w3 I got wont fit where the Audi sub goes, so i'm going to remove all that unit and make some sort of word/fiberglass monster to fit in there.
    Just unsure how to make sort of template.

    Fox, I'd like to see some pics when you get it all done please.
    #16
  18. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    274
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    I use my boot. So on this car i have an 8 inch in the centre of the spare wheel. On the last car i placed a 10 inch one behind the cupboard thing in a FG box.

    Nice work Foxy, stop sorting sounds, and get that blower on....LOL
    #17
  19. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 28, 2011]
    #18
  20. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 29, 2011]
    No probs mate, just will be a while, currently doing nightshift and now looking for a van to buy, busy boy! lol
    #19
  21. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 29, 2011]
    Ha ha, yes sir!!! That wont happen for a bit, but will keep you updated when it starts, roll on summer with the sound of a SC whinning away!!! Lol.
    #20
  22. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 29, 2011]
    Yep, please do, might make me jealous enough to do mine at a later date! Ha.
    #21

Share This Page