1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Roof Bars

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Does any one know if Q5 roof bars will fit the B5?

    I know nothing about the Q5 or Audi roof bars.

    There seems to be loads of Q5 roofs bars for a good price but any thing for the A4 seems to sky rocket.
    Plus they tend to look better.
     
  2. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,524
    Likes Received:
    459
    Doubt it.

    The rails are profiled to fit the B5 roof bars.
     
  3. Alsie

    Alsie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    when you say rails do you mean the estate? cos on mine im using a set of bars off a Vauxhall Omega and they fit perfectly...
     
  4. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Really ? ooooooo
     
  5. Alsie

    Alsie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    yep...can take a piccy tomoz if ya like :) carted a huge roof box around no problems and they only take 5 mins to take off
     
  6. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    I'm talking about the bars that clips on to the rails.

    I thought the space/distance between the two rails would be more important?
    Any one know the distance? :D

    Alise, please do. be interesting to see.
     
  7. Alsie

    Alsie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    the bars have an adjustable fixing that slide on the bars, clip onto the rails tighten with round adjuster and snap shut
     
  8. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    The the Omega ones?

    If the Q5 ones was adjustable it would be alot easier but I can't see any adjustment on the pictures.
     
  9. Alsie

    Alsie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    yea the omega ones.. lie the bars on the rails, slide the fixings to the rails, open the jaws, tighten down and snap shut to lock in place, piccys tomoz will make it clearer
     
  10. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Looking in to the Q5 roof bars a bit more.
    I don't think they use the same attachment as is required for the B5 roof rails.
    I'm still looking to make sure I'm right. I don't want to jump at this and have a set of bars thats no good.

    Thought as much. Q5 roof bars on the roof rails.

    [​IMG]

    Just to make sure I got the naming correct.
    I'm calling these the rails and the bits that goes between the bars.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Alsie

    Alsie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    mine clamp under with the bars sitting above, so lie a lot closer to the roof..
     
  12. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Bit like this?
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Alsie

    Alsie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    yea like that but without the lock...took a picture bit its a little dark..

    [​IMG]
     
  14. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Got ya.

    Thanks.
     
  15. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,524
    Likes Received:
    459
    Whispbars are where its at.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    It is, but how much?!?
     
  17. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,524
    Likes Received:
    459
  18. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
  19. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
  20. Alsie

    Alsie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    those look really nice, smooth fitting, very sleek
     
  21. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,524
    Likes Received:
    459
    bar being for a B6, they look pretty good.
     
  22. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Yeah, apart from that.

    How close to the same shape are the B5 and B6 bars?

    there is only a B7 in my street to see.

    EDIT:=- Just emailed him to see he does B5s or if he's willing to do B5s.
     
    #22 ScottD3, Jan 30, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  23. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    125
    putting a colourcoded roof box on??? going all euro???
     
  24. spartacus 68

    spartacus 68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    36
    I put Thule aluminium aero bars on mine. As good as the day they went on, and fixing the roof-box for holidays is a 5-minute job. The rest of the time I use Thule bike carriers (x2).

    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
  25. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Not really thought about it that much.
    I want to get back in to the sea again this year, so want some bars to carry boards and yaks.
    Might try and buy one off my uncle (I think its the same as spartacus's) and use that for holiday and shows this year.

    Is that a Thule Pacific 700 Roof box?
    Whats the front and rear over hang like?
    Any effect on MPG?
     
  26. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    125
    do it, doooo eeeeet.... :kissmyrings: euro!!!!
     
  27. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Haha depends on what I get and price.
     

Share This Page