RobMorris ICE install journal

RobMorris

Reaction score
Chaps

Let me first say this is my first attempt of what Id call a proper install.
Ive never used sound deadening before and in the past the best ive had is some 6x9s and a sub in a pre made box shoved in the corner of the boot.

Il be working on a budget/using what ive got/accumalated over the years.. and its just for personal use IE im not going into any comps etc!

Plans -
Stock Concert Head Unit
Silent coat the whole boot/door cards/rear panels
6.5" Dragster Mid Bass components in the doors along with stock tweeters running off the HU
6.5" Dragster Mid bass components in the rear qtr panels running off a 2ch Fusion amp.
Choice of 8" RE Sub, 12" Fusion Sub, 15" Vibe Sub

I want to build a false floor holding the amps and sub.
But I want to keep the spare wheel so the floor needs to hinge and I want enough room left over for either my golf clubs or the babys buggy!

A tall order?

Today I started by pulling out all the boot panels and the stock sub/amp box and covering as much as i can in the deadening.
IMG_0674.jpg

IMG_0673.jpg

I then thought I might aswell pull the rear seats out to sound deaden where needed and to give me easy access to removing the rear qtr panels

IMG_0677.jpg

With the rear qtr panels off I removed the stock speakers and began to lay sound deadening inside the hole. I also put on a deadening 'gasket' ready for the speakers.

IMG_0678.jpg

I took off the hatch cover and put small pieces of sound deadening in where I could and shoved some cut up towel in to help with vibrations.

IMG_0676.jpg

IMG_0675.jpg

Ok so thats all for today. Perhaps il try to draw something up for the false floor and you guys can critique it..?

Any ideas/views welcome.

Cheers

Looking good Rob!

I've been out all weekend doing mine actually, took far longer than i'd anticipated!

Ok so I have used my skillzzzzzz and have knocked this up.
This is obviously a false floor install (I hope its obvious!)