1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE slow slow with reading 2 gb memory card

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by amar06fbr, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    hi guys,

    iv purcahsed a new rnse with media button to replace my old 1 as i slightly damaged the face on it while working on my car.
    there are both 2010 media button rns.. my old rns used to take a few secounds to read my memory card, my new 1 takes 5 mins to read it :think: should i return this rns or do i need to get a sdhc memory card?

    thanks
    #1
  2. cloughy
    Offline

    cloughy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    My 2010 RNS-E takes a couple of seconds to read my 32gb class 10 SDHC

    Shouldn't take 5 mins to read, I'd buy a SDHC to troubleshoot and in any case a nice new large capacity card will come in useful

    Mymemory.co.uk are good for cards
    #2
  3. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,166
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    Bought 2 x 32GBs off play, I haven't tried em out yet but I believe Warren is running them on his car.
    #3
  4. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,441
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    i am indeed, they take a few seconds to load (probably about 6-8), but no more than that. Occasionally you get a little clock on the screen when its processing as you look through the folders.
    #4
  5. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    thanks for the link orederd 32gb class 10
    #5
  6. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    i dont get no clock it just say's loading, and and reads it after 5 mins.. i tried my old one in agen and it took a few secounds to read the same memory card.. i will put part number up shortly.. do i have to program the satnav? i didnt do my old 1 and it works perfect..
    #6
  7. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,441
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    Never noticed loading on the screen, I just get this little clock in the top right or left hand corner which turns from black to white with like a handsweep motion as it's thinking for a second or two as it loads up. It's very small and almost faded out against the rest of the text so could be easily missed.

    Is yours one of the later RNS-E Mk2 HD units?
    #7
  8. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    am not sure its chrome button media, hd unit?
    #8
  9. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,441
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    If its the later HD unit I'd get an SDHC card from Play or Mymemory.

    The read time on some of the later cards are up much quicker than the older SD cards (they have greater read / write acceleration technology built into them), and the old SD cards aren't even aligned to the Class system used for SDHC (usually 4-10).

    I'd be looking to get a card between 8Gb - 32Gb that reads at least 20Mb/Sec. Play have Samsung waterproof / shock proof ones for about a tenner. Try that first before swapping the unit out.
    #9
  10. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Nov 26, 2011]
    iv orederd a 32 gb class 10 from my memory,

    this is my old unit

    [​IMG]

    this is my new unit,

    [​IMG]

    what does the 05s and 06s stand for?
    #10

Share This Page