1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE removal

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by loudchris53, Mar 18, 2013.

  1. loudchris53

    loudchris53 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi all, i may be part exing my car this weekend so want to try and get the rns-e out and put my old symphony one back in, aside from getting radio keys and pulling the unit out do i just take the plugs out the back and but them into the symphony?

    Thanks
    Chris
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Cozza McA

    Cozza McA Crunching The Gears
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    71
    Id say that your one the right lines with just removing it, maybe replace an adapter if the RNSE was installed.
    Not 100% sure though

    Ps I'd be intreasted in this if the price is right. Cheers
     
  4. fangio

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    135
    If the quadlock in the back of the rns-e won't fit the Symphony, disconnect the 3 plugs and plug them all into the Symphony. You can't mix them up!
     
  5. BlueSpark

    BlueSpark 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you originally had the symphony and retrofitted the RNS-E, then just remove the RNS-E unit and cable adaptors for the quad lock. Plug in Symphony with original leads and recode to let the car know you no longer have sat nav installed.
     
  6. Brodster

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    863
    And if its got Bose swap the pins over.....theres a sticky about it that I made up about converting to RNSE.....just do the reversal.
     
  7. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    Bose pins only effect post 2007 cars, and the car will need to be recoded back for the Symphony stereo....
     

Share This Page