1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE removal

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by loudchris53, Mar 18, 2013.

  1. loudchris53
    Offline

    loudchris53 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi all, i may be part exing my car this weekend so want to try and get the rns-e out and put my old symphony one back in, aside from getting radio keys and pulling the unit out do i just take the plugs out the back and but them into the symphony?

    Thanks
    Chris
    #1
  2. Cozza McA
    Offline

    Cozza McA Crunching The Gears

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    70
    Id say that your one the right lines with just removing it, maybe replace an adapter if the RNSE was installed.
    Not 100% sure though

    Ps I'd be intreasted in this if the price is right. Cheers
    #2
  3. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    95
    If the quadlock in the back of the rns-e won't fit the Symphony, disconnect the 3 plugs and plug them all into the Symphony. You can't mix them up!
    #3
  4. BlueSpark
    Offline

    BlueSpark 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you originally had the symphony and retrofitted the RNS-E, then just remove the RNS-E unit and cable adaptors for the quad lock. Plug in Symphony with original leads and recode to let the car know you no longer have sat nav installed.
    #4
  5. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    796
    And if its got Bose swap the pins over.....theres a sticky about it that I made up about converting to RNSE.....just do the reversal.
    #5
  6. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    45
    Bose pins only effect post 2007 cars, and the car will need to be recoded back for the Symphony stereo....
    #6

Share This Page