1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE navigation disc/ bluetooth module

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by hambo0, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. hambo0
    Offline

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I am after abit of advice, have a couple of questions.

    I have a 2005 A3 Sportback with factory fitted Bluetooth and MFSW and have retrofitted RNSE. It's has SW: 0550 and HW: H54

    1. Other than updated roads what benefits do I get from upgrading my 2007 navigation disc to the 2011 edition?

    2. Currently my DIS does not display my address book when paired with my iPhone, it just says NO ENTRIES.
    The Bluetooth works fine when someone phones I can answer with the MFSW and can make a call when I scroll through my iPhone.
    I have been reading some older posts and think its down to either that it needs coding through VAG-COM. Or I have an OLD BT module
    (probably D version) from what I have been reading. My RNSE does not display the Bluetooth symbol as well at the bottom where TMC is.

    My dilemma is do I go down the route and pay somonee to do the coding thing first or just buy a later BT module ( seen some H and K
    versions on eBay ).

    Any feedback back would be much appreciated. :)
    #1
  2. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    27
    I can help with the little bluetooth icon. With VCDS you need to go into 'Telephone' (address 77 I think), and the third digit from the left needs to be set for high line, so it needs to be set from '0' to '1'.

    So for instance, if your present code is 0001622, you would change it to 0011622 and click 'DO IT'. You will then get the bluetooth icon in the display.
    #2
  3. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    Stay away from the 'K' module, known firmware issues. I was browsing yesterday and I bought a 'Q' module, there was also a 'S' for £140.
    #3
  4. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    If it is not a highline or comfort phone module, then you will never be able to code it for the RNS-E.

    so D or E module, no good

    Any other EU suffix will work, but you will need to code it correctly 0011422 for an A3 with MFSW or 0010322 for an A3 without MFSW
    #4
  5. hambo0
    Offline

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply's

    If I did upgrade my Bluetooth module which prefix is best to go for? Is anything after E and avoiding K ok to use?

    Jb0o where did you see the S version?

    Where is the Bluetooth module located on a A3 Sportback? Is it under the drivers seat?
    #5
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    8P1 862 335 A is the latest one.

    8P0 862 335 Q/S/AA are fine

    It is located under the passenger floor in a RHD A3
    #6
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    #7
  8. hambo0
    Offline

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    I finally managed to borrow a VAG COM cable and have tonight had a look at my coding

    s8craig is correct and I could not code my telephone module, all I get is error 31 request out of range.

    I have a couple of questions thou (novice to vag com).

    I currently have on channel 77 telephone 0001222. ???? Is this correct?

    I also have a fault code on channel 56 radio my coding is 020531 again is this correct ????

    As on the original thread I have a 2005 A3 Sportback with factory MFSW and GSM Phone and have retrofitted RNSE and iPod dock in the glovebox.

    Would be grateful for any assistance.
    #8

Share This Page