1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSe Installed

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by L60N, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jun 30, 2008]
    Im making this post to really thank a couple of guys on this forum, without whom, i'd have either lost my head or done something completely daft.

    I bought a 2008 model RNSe on ebay for £550 plus postage last week. It arrived today and I ripped it out of the box without delay and swapped it with my BNS 5.0 CD nav.

    Straight away there was problems, a constant clicking noise and to boot the screen was stuck. Another problem was the DVD being stuck in the unit which wouldnt eject or read! :keule:

    My heart sank rapidly as i was thinking "Have i just lost £600??"

    Anyway a PM to MarcQuinlivan expressing my worries later, I got a rapid response, he was straight on the case and gave me a lot of tips and pointers.

    Also Mitch78 tried to put my mind at rest and assured me we could possibly sort it with his VAGcom software.

    Later today driving around with the constant clicking (i was ready to boil over at this point) the screen decided to close and the nav screen fired up, I was over the moon!!

    Touch wood its been perfect since and is operating 100%.

    I cant beleive the seller shipped it with the DVD in but i've advised him to stop that in future because as Marc pointed out, it can easily become dislodged in transit.

    Tonight ive been round at Lee's (Mitch78) and he's had it hooked up to the VAGCom, after a bit of fettling and trawling of the net he cleared all the faults (Even one fault Audi had coded wrong!!) and its running perfectly.

    My initial reactions to the unit are that its WELL worth the money. The NAV info is absolutley idiot proof and is displayed on a lovely big screen. Its also nice to see the track names displayed for easy selection when using the SD slots. Also whilst im on that subject; with the SD cards you can switch really rapidly between tracks wheras the ipod goes into meltdown if you skip quickly 4 more more tracks forward/backward.

    So I just wanted to say a big thanks to Marc; for all your advice, even from way back when I was window shopping, you made sure i didnt buy the wrong model lol :jester:, and Lee for all the help with clearing the faults and lending me the removal keys. You've both kept me sane when panic was beginning to set in :friends:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jun 30, 2008]
    Superb news mate. People criticise RNSe for loads of things on this site - personally I've had it all over Europe and its NEVER let me down.

    A great move - well done on the self fit too (bet you have a few more grey hairs now though).
    #2
  4. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jun 30, 2008]
    :thumbsup:
    #3
  5. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    180
    [Jun 30, 2008]
    Want one.:salute:
    #4
  6. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jun 30, 2008]
    Glad you finally got it sorted Leon.

    All you need now are some aluminium knobs to finish it off!

    I agree that it is well worth the investment. I previously had a Garmin 660 which I felt suited my needs and didn't think it was worth getting the RNS-e, but I think it is one of the best "extras" I've bought for the car. It also allows me to hook in a TV Tuner and some other stuff that I would otherwise have been without.
    #5
  7. Kontraband
    Online

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Hell!!! I can imagine how you felt when it started clicking!!! :gun2:

    Great to hear you got it sorted tho mate, and help from the local lads shows this forums a great place to be.

    Looks great... just gotta find a reason now for me to get one for me 16 mile identical daily trip to work! ;)
    #6
  8. S3IZZO
    Online

    S3IZZO Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    I'd have never had made prosport without it, my sense of direction isn't great...I once ended up in Hull whilst trying to get to sheffield from castleford :wacko:
    #7
  9. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    On the way back from Germany last week we were on the M20 with the RNSe turned on (didn't need it - I know my way back from Dover to Manchester Ok) and the posh bird who speaks to you started saying "WARNING: Your route has been changed due to major traffic disruptions. Please follow redirected route". I obeyed like a good lad (she's pretty scary) and we were home in 4 hours. Later I found out she'd avoided an M25 closure, a major traffic incident on the M40 and a 6 mile tailback on the M6 - estimated journey time 7 hours.

    Its times like that when you thank God for RNSe.
    #8
  10. magnus911
    Offline

    magnus911 R8GGA

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Hey what map/software are you running? I have the 2007 map and I don't get that lane pictogram! I want it!
    #9
  11. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    I find that even on trips where I know where I'm going I still use it as it gives you an arrival time. It means I don't end up trying to break the sound barrier if I think I'm running late.
    #10
  12. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    You need to go into the options and there'll be one for "intersection zoom". turn this on or off to change it. One of them gives you the split screen image at junctions and the other one just zooms the full screen in when you approach a junction.
    #11
  13. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    That'll be the TMC feature. If you press the INFO button you'll get a map with a listing of all the roadworks\delays in the area.
    #12
  14. Kontraband
    Online

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    yeah, ok... its true.. I want one... Does the new face lift version have the same sort of RNS - E ... i.e. when I get shut of my car will the unit still be worth summat or is it a couple of years and bust?
    #13
  15. consilio
    Offline

    consilio Up the owls!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Also use mine even if I know where i am going. Like you say its useful to know your arrival time, but also useful for avoiding traffic problems via TMC
    #14
  16. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Yes, same unit with chrome knobs. I imagine there will still be a market for them for quite some time.
    #15
  17. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Glad you sorted it.. I found that guy (ebay)quite responsive in fairness as I said..
    #16
  18. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Well i didnt get a response until i send teh last message to say it was wokring ok. :ermm:

    Anyway. To answer Magnus911, the software im guessing is version 8.1 (thats written on the disk). Im not sure whether thats recent or not, but most roads are on it..

    Marc, Ive turned of TP because im tired of teh radio constantly cutting in. Does that mean that the TMC will not redirect me??

    Regards

    P.S.. Keep your eye out for a 2008 model Kontraband, the model number should end with a Q :icon_thumright:
    #17
  19. SiT
    Offline

    SiT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Thats a top retro-fit Leon, well done

    I had a A4 last week with RNS-E and thought it was great. I didn't want one to be fair until last week and now knowing its around £600 is a good price... might even attempt to fit it myself...

    Spacers first this month then maybe Nav the next :)

    Si
    #18
  20. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    I take it you tweaked the wheel size and bose/non bose plus the nice S3 startup screen right?!
    #19
  21. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Yeah, Mitch took care of everything for me.. :yes:
    #20
  22. Kontraband
    Online

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Yorkshire boys do it right first time. ;)
    #21
  23. redbutcher
    Offline

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    The little bar graph by the TMC icon - is that the number of satellites being received? I'm sure mine doesn't show that :uhm:
    #22
  24. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Its my mobile phone signal. :thumbsup:
    #23
  25. redbutcher
    Offline

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Ahhh - that'll be why mine doesn't show that as I don't have the phone kit!

    That's quite handy info though (note to self, must read the manual in future).
    #24
  26. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Not as far as I know - they should be two seperate things. I guess you'll find out some day you come upon a tailback.
    #25
  27. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Just checked my unit on the way home.

    The option for the split screen is "intersection map". The option to zoom in at the junction is "auto intersection zoom". These options are either\or\neither.

    There is also a useful one called "turn list" which displays the route junction by junction overlaid over the left half of the screen.
    #26
  28. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    :iagree:
    I have "intersection map" ticked. The auto zoom is not as handy, the intersection option makes it really easy to make the right turns :)

    I have turn list off. I dont think its very helpfull, especially when it shows on the right how many miles before you need to turn. Also, I like a full view whilst running along the straights :)
    #27
  29. Jay.Ing
    Offline

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    What was causing the clicking??
    #28
  30. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    I think the DVD must have dislodged in transit, then sorted itself out... eventually. :search:
    #29
  31. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Sounds sh*t hot!

    How does the SD cards work with your music? whats the sound like?

    p
    #30
  32. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    The sound is great + Track names :) . I think it sounds even better than my ipod dock.
    #31
  33. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    How does it compare to the Symphony CD player souind wise? music ( sound ) is important to me.:music:

    p
    #32
  34. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    The line volume is a bit lower, but you just turn it up.

    The sound is comparable to my Phatbox, but obviously the higher the quality of the mp3 file the better it will sound.
    #33
  35. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Hmmm some times i have it full whack as it is!

    Could you still have a CD changer in the glovebox?

    p
    #34
  36. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Yes.
    #35
  37. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    I knew you reminded me of someone!!

    [​IMG]
    #36
  38. Young un
    Offline

    Young un Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    L60N
    Glad the unit is working for you. It's certainly an option/mod thats worth having. But as good as the RNSe unit is...im slightly disappointed that it isnt touch screen sensitive. Only a minor gripe but if the portable TomTom, Navman etc... all have touch screen, surely AUDI could sort this out in future
    (sorry guys, I know it is totally off topic)
    #37
  39. Kontraband
    Online

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    #38
  40. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Yeah thats a minor thing really, having used it for the last couple of days I can safely say its pretty user friendly.

    The main issue is inputting destinations, that can take your concentration a bit, but every one u put in is stored in the memory which makes repeat destinations a doddle :)
    #39
  41. Kontraband
    Online

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    have you got your home in... you know... so when someone robs your car, they can find your home? ;)
    #40

Share This Page