1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE Install Antenna Question

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MattyW19, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. MattyW19
    Offline

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    Hi,

    I'm in the middle of fitting my new RNSE :) But when I installed just the GPS my radio reception was poor. To install the GPS, I have had to unplug the two antenna connectors from the back of the radio. Is there any way I can fit the GPS and the antenna together?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Adam.
    Offline

    Adam. Meow.

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    GPS goes into a plug on the top of the unit(blue iirc), the radio is the 2 at the bottom!
    #2
  4. Adam.
    Offline

    Adam. Meow.

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    Blue one to the right of the fan:

    [​IMG]
    #3
  5. MattyW19
    Offline

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    Ahh gotcha! Haha thanks :)
    #4
  6. MattyW19
    Offline

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    Just another question! :)

    After taking me ages to work out how to use the unit, I finally find out that i'm meant to position myself on the map?

    I've managed to do this, however when I drive it seems to go ok, then all of a sudden ends up in a field? Is this related to my GPS signal, as I have installed it just under the two airvents
    #5
  7. kite
    Offline

    kite Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    how many sats are you picking up ?
    #6
  8. MattyW19
    Offline

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    1-3 I think?
    #7
  9. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    Stick it on top of the glove box, thats where I always stick them without any problems.
    #8
  10. kite
    Offline

    kite Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    go to nav screen, press "nav info" scroll up, should show how many sats received
    #9
  11. MattyW19
    Offline

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    Ok thanks for that, I'll give it a try
    #10
  12. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Dec 29, 2011]
    Okkkk. After doing countless installs of an RNSe, the best place by far is on top of the vent system.

    With the unit out, follow the top plastic in the hole, you will then find a gap to the left or right, once you've doin it you can then just push through a little further and you will feel a ledge. I always place them on there. I usually expect to see 7-9 sats depending on where I am.

    In regard to going off position, this is normal on first install. The RNSe has to calibrate itself. Should be ok after the first 5-10 miles.

    Hope that helps.
    #11

Share This Page