1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE Install Antenna Question

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MattyW19, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. MattyW19

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi,

    I'm in the middle of fitting my new RNSE :) But when I installed just the GPS my radio reception was poor. To install the GPS, I have had to unplug the two antenna connectors from the back of the radio. Is there any way I can fit the GPS and the antenna together?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Adam.

    Adam. Meow.

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPS goes into a plug on the top of the unit(blue iirc), the radio is the 2 at the bottom!
     
  4. Adam.

    Adam. Meow.

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    34
    Blue one to the right of the fan:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. MattyW19

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ahh gotcha! Haha thanks :)
     
  6. MattyW19

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just another question! :)

    After taking me ages to work out how to use the unit, I finally find out that i'm meant to position myself on the map?

    I've managed to do this, however when I drive it seems to go ok, then all of a sudden ends up in a field? Is this related to my GPS signal, as I have installed it just under the two airvents
     
  7. kite

    kite Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    how many sats are you picking up ?
     
  8. MattyW19

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    1-3 I think?
     
  9. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    Stick it on top of the glove box, thats where I always stick them without any problems.
     
  10. kite

    kite Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    go to nav screen, press "nav info" scroll up, should show how many sats received
     
  11. MattyW19

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok thanks for that, I'll give it a try
     
  12. Cruiser89

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    217
    Okkkk. After doing countless installs of an RNSe, the best place by far is on top of the vent system.

    With the unit out, follow the top plastic in the hole, you will then find a gap to the left or right, once you've doin it you can then just push through a little further and you will feel a ledge. I always place them on there. I usually expect to see 7-9 sats depending on where I am.

    In regard to going off position, this is normal on first install. The RNSe has to calibrate itself. Should be ok after the first 5-10 miles.

    Hope that helps.
     

Share This Page