1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE G, does it need coding?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by grr666, Jul 15, 2013.

  1. grr666
    Offline

    grr666 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    Hi, I have RNSE already I also have Audi bluetooth.
    If I buy the RNSE G version with the glossy black frame will it be a simple
    plug and play? I would quite like the voice activated features activated also.
    At the moment my voice command only works with the phone.

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 27, 2015]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,615
    Likes Received:
    1,300
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    You would need an sds mk2 unit, that is specific to a unit version of which I supply/fit, full sds needs wiring done aswell as coding & specific rns-e, PM if interested
    #2
  4. grr666
    Offline

    grr666 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    Okay, so assuming I'm happy to manage without voice commands.
    (Nice to have but not essential) would it be plug and play then.
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,615
    Likes Received:
    1,300
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    Ideally it needs coding, but is pnp.
    #4
  6. grr666
    Offline

    grr666 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    Thanks for the response NHN,
    Well I'd rather have things done properly of course.
    What's the benefit of coding it if it is plug and play?
    I'm assuming it's so the ECU recognises it as 'belonging' to the car?
    I've got my eye on a 2nd hand unit, I can't justify 800-1000 quid on something that's
    nearly the same as what I already have (The Mrs won't have that) but if I can fit the
    2nd hand unit and sell my old one then the difference in price ought to be reasonable and
    worth the expense. Maybe down the line I'd like to add some extra features like reverse
    cam and tv tuner/dvd playback but first I need the newer unit.
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,615
    Likes Received:
    1,300
    [Jul 15, 2013]
    Coding would enable systems that may not be coded for when plugged in, the main functions with be pnp but some things may not work fully or at all, your choice, at least you've been advised.
    #6

Share This Page