1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rnse fitted is it coded?

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by vw754, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 15, 2012]
    RNSE fitted to my friends car,about a weel ago.......alls fine but.......... when using vcds i cant scan in radio or satnav.....does this mean it needs coding ......does the car know its fitted?...........A4 B7 CAB 2007
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jan 17, 2012]
    No the person who fitted it did not do the job correctly, as they have not wired up the k-line, so by default it has not been correctly coded for the car. I would start by checking the wiring, most common wiring faults are the Bose pin & k-line, also don't forget to code the instrument cluster (adaptation channel only) and Bluetooth module if fitted.
    #2
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 17, 2012]
    As above Keef, but if you get stuck give me a bell.
    #3
  5. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 17, 2012]
    it displays on the cluster and all ive found out is that original headunit was taken out and the sat nav plugged in......plug and play.
    sds voice ativation wont work either...so if anyone can tell me what to do id appreciate it as ive never done one or know of the k-line etc....thanks.
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 17, 2012]
    What was the original unit, pics would help.
    #5
  7. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 17, 2012]
    audi concert.....like this one............[​IMG]
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 17, 2012]
    Ah so its quadlock, you could check the kline wire mate, if you still have the unit, then check the label on the top of the old radio & check the rns label to verify its in the correct location, even if its not coded on the bus in instruments on a B6/7 it still allows diag access so you can code that canbus.

    Assuming sds wiring was done correctly & has the mic & has an sds rns-e fitted?
    #7
  9. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 17, 2012]
    thanks nhn ....will report back soon.
    #8
  10. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 22, 2012]
    ok......sorted it out connected k-line and now have made sure its all coded to the car.....the car has a mfsw everything works on that except the 'mode' button and also ive heard something about a repair wire that needs to be added so that the phone can be used via voice ativation.............BT phone is connected via bluetooth at the moment.
    #9

Share This Page