1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE - Bose issues

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by crypric23, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.

    Just put my sat nav in the new car , which has Bose ,previous one did not.

    I am getting some vag-com errors to do with the front speakers , forgot to copy the report. ( Doh )

    I am aware that some times you have to do some tweaks with the pins on the block to do with aftermarket fitting, there are no empty bays to move any pins so i am assuming that something needs swapping or doing.

    It sounds like Bose is working ( i think ) but there are errors as said ...
    I had an RRNS put in my TT when i owned one ( No jokes please )
    I remember there having to be some tweaking then , just cant find it on here..

    Any help ?

    Thanks guys and girls
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    You shouldn't need to swop the pins for Bose if your new car has a large cam lock connector.
     
  4. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does have the large cam lock connector , and i could not swap pins even if i wanted to ( the 3 - 7 pin thing ) as there are no empty pin holes to move from one pin hole to another as all holes have a wire already in them...

    Thanks for the answer , so i now do not have to move any pins , even if i wanted to i cant as said there all full. But why am i getting errors to do with the speakers in VCD ?
     
  5. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    Sorry mate...need to see the error read out tomorrow. Nige is the RNSE man but if he has any sense he is still down the pub :)
     
  6. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    No worries , ill check the errors tomorrow.

    So am i right in thinking that the Bose just works , plug and play?

    Old head unit out new RRNS-E head unit in , code and away , no pins moving around anymore , was that just on the old connectors..before the clam lock block ?
     
  7. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    You need to move a pin to activate Bose, plus you will need to code the RNS with Bose aswell.

    Have you coded the rns at all for your car?

    Just check your existing most likely concert 2+/3 which pin is Bose & then move it to the pin thats for Bose on the rns, its all on the block wire connector label on each unit, if there's something already in place then check the existing radio to see what it is 1st.

    I would to be sure do a pin to pin map to make sure everything matches up with both radios, most will anyway.

    You probably will have the old ZF to ground etc error because the antenna system isnt for the rns-e, possibly.

    Also you mean the quadlock connector.

    As Pat said you need to do a log & then post it so we can give you proper advice instead of possibly speculation.
     
  8. mattandrew

    mattandrew Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    11
    ive had a look into this Pat, as we discovered earlier pin 7 is already taken, the reason for this is the AUX socket in the centre console uses pin 7 on the concert headunit.

    3 wires will need removing from the blue connector and connecting to the other connector on the back of the rns

    you will then be able to move the pin
     
  9. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    10
    Matt is right. I kinda watched Hazzy's do mine and they disconnected three pins from the Aux and re-positioned the Bose one. Sorry can't be more specific but at a push I could remove and take a pic of the back if you wanted?
     
  10. mattandrew

    mattandrew Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    11
    You need to remove AUX-R, AUX-L and AUX GND from the blue connector and connect into the relevant pins on the 32 pin plug which you need to buy 1J0 972 977 G

    The bose pin can the be moved
     
  11. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like the plan then ,

    For the time being can i remove the AUX-R, AUX-L and AUX GND from the blue connector

    Then this will then free up pin 7 , to move the bose pin to ,

    But if i do not add the part for the time being and leave the AUX-R, AUX-L and AUX GND from the blue connector out , will this cause issues with them just not being connected ,

    Or will it just mean that the AUX will not work , which i can live with until i get the part , to then put them back in.
     
    #10 crypric23, Nov 1, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Just leave the aux wires hanging with maybe some tape on ends & then move bose pin, it'll be fine, but dont forget to code the unit for this, then when you have the 32 pin G connector just plug those hanging pins in, also making sure you code the car for this aswell.

    Matt will sort it.
     
  13. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think ill just wait and get the plug , thanks as always !
     
  14. pns2007

    pns2007 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    19

Share This Page