1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-e with BOSE - but want to add a separate amp & sub

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by brixo, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. brixo
    Offline

    brixo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 23, 2011]
    Hi all.

    I have a 2008 A4 Avant S Line SE with RNS-e and BOSE.

    The sound is ok, but the sub is a little lost in the vast boot of the Avant. Is there a way of taking a feed from the head unit and pointing it towards an external amp (Alpine V12) and sub (AudioBahn)...?

    I want to take the signal before it gets into the amp, therefore (presuming) it will be the cleanest - then stick some RCA cables on. I have seen amps that will take in the speaker cable direct - I expect those to be crappy quality and probably get hot.

    Is this doable or am I make a rod for my own back and will end up in a big heap or wires/fire/anger?!

    Thanks all.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 23, 2011]
    Yes you can pick up the rear pre-outs from the connector on the Bose amp along with the remote on trigger to turn the Alpine on/off with the HU. You just need to strip the ends off an RCA lead and piggyback onto the left/right signals and remote on.
    You may need to include a ground loop isolator before the Alpine amp to avoid getting a pop when the amp turns on.
    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. brixo
    Offline

    brixo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 23, 2011]
    Many thanks for the prompt reply. I was expecting hell, a lot of wire cutting, a lot of swearing, several fuses blown and a potential fire hazard!

    I'll get looking at where to mount the amp and how to get power to it!

    Cheers!
    #3
  5. brixo
    Offline

    brixo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 23, 2011]
    Would you use...

    "Remote on" = 6
    "left/right signal" = 21/22

    Thanks.
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 23, 2011]
    Yes and pin 7 for the screens on the RCA's
    #5
  7. brixo
    Offline

    brixo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 24, 2011]
    Many thanks - done (with thanks to a friend who isn't as kack handed as me)!

    Piggybacked all of the Bose connector wires... that Bose connector was a complete biatch to dismantle, but done.

    I have just been to the local audio place to buy my 8AWG power and told him what I was up to.

    He has tried this a few times, but says that by splitting the line inputs, the voltage drops (due to "sharing" the signal with the ones going into the Bose amp) and the RNS-e will think there is an issue and shut down after about 15 minutes...

    ... has anyone seen this or is it make belief?!
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 24, 2011]
    Total ********, I've done it many times and its fine
    #7
  9. brixo
    Offline

    brixo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 24, 2011]
    Yup, thought so. Completed the install. Running a cable from the battery to the back of the car was a *****. They made these cars too well nowadays!

    Now to figure out how to stop if from being permanently on - the "remote" is supplying power constantly to the relay, therefore the amp is on all of the time... put a switch on the "remote" wire for the time being.

    Thanks again.
    #8
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 25, 2011]
    As said pin 6 provides the switched live to turn the amp on/off with the HU. It does stay live until you lock the car for some bizarre Audi reason.
    #9

Share This Page