1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E will not read new 2012 discs

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by jbcalvin, May 15, 2012.

  1. jbcalvin
    Offline

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys,

    I have a retro-fitted RNS-E in my car which is currently running a genuine 2010 Audi disc in it.

    I have just bought a new genuine 2012 disc and when inserted I just get a message stating disc unreadable? Any suggestions guys coz these new discs weren't cheap :sos:...... the 2010 disc is working perfectly....
    #1
  2. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    2
    Take it back to Audi and get them to try it in another car. It may be a dirty laser in your unit, and if the discs are a different type to your 2010 copy, that may be enough to hinder performance.
    #2
  3. jbcalvin
    Offline

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Gary,

    Didn't buy them from Audi, sourced from e-bay, but genuine discs, unlikely to be dirty laser as I cleaned it last week when my current disc started slowing down when selecting addresses..... now back to normal speedy service....
    #3
  4. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,695
    Likes Received:
    21
    send it back for replacement
    #4
  5. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,695
    Likes Received:
    21
    link to where you got it
    #5
  6. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmm, dodgy disc then mate.
    #6
  7. Ste_Nova
    Offline

    Ste_Nova Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    1
    can you read it in a pc?
    #7
  8. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    9
    Could always be your laser getting weak.

    Did the person you bought the RNS-E from use copied discs? They place more strain on the laser as they are harder to read than genuine pressed discs.

    If you can read the discs OK in a PC then I suggest your laser is getting weak and needs replacing.
    #8
  9. StuG808
    Offline

    StuG808 1.9tdi130 Avant FailWheelDrive

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Someone once told me that 'less than legal' navigation data ISO's (for the RNSD anyway, probably same for E) had to be burned onto a specific brand of CD otherwise they wouldn't work. And then I reported them to the police ;)
    #9
  10. jbcalvin
    Offline

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have just spoken to the seller on e-bay and he breaks cars, the discs were in a vehicle he took in and he has apologised for them not working, refunded the funds and told me not to bother sending them back......

    Must say I am very impressed, just need to try and get proper discs now.....
    #10
  11. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure if this is going to help you get yours working, but my RNS-E is also a retro-fitted 2007 model (8E0 035 192 K) and definitely reads to 2012 discs fine... there's not much difference, except the petrol stations now have the logos, so I can hunt out my Vpower/Ultimate and avoid the others...
    #11
  12. jbcalvin
    Offline

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi lostbok,

    my current 2010 disc does show the petrol station logos, the reason I was looking for a current disc is for this years trip to Le Mans, there are quite a few new roads built since 2010, and the French have a habit of changing road numbers and classifications fairly regularly, just don't want to get lost.....
    #12
  13. kite
    Offline

    kite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just follow the N138, have a great weekend.
    #13
  14. jbcalvin
    Offline

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi kite,

    Have taken that route a few times now, however this year I am getting the overnight ferry to St Malo, rather than Chunnel to Calais, so N138 would be a hell of a detour!

    Can't believe I leave in 27 days! Better get the car stickered up this weekend....
    #14
  15. kite
    Offline

    kite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    1
    Pix when it's done...
    #15
  16. Ste_Nova
    Offline

    Ste_Nova Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    1
    have you tried it in a pc yet? if it will read try making a copy
    #16
  17. IanFM
    Online

    IanFM Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    2
    He can't take pics of his car this weekend because it will be jealous of the pretty denim blue one sitting beside it lol
    #17
  18. jbcalvin
    Offline

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah but the blue one isn't going to Le Mans....... rofl.......
    #18

Share This Page