1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E, Those good guys at Audi

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JCMCN, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. JCMCN
    Offline

    JCMCN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 25, 2010]
    I have taken the brave steps and installed an RNS-E unit into my MY2010 A3. I bought the unit and relevant wiring from ebay. On excertion of the previous unit I was kind of confused by the wiring. I had also bought the Connection boxes and ariel connector as advised, however after looking at the existing loom it looked to me like a straight fit and sure enough all slipped in perfect and all works perfect. Although the one thing I can't seem to get working is the AUX input. The unit states that the AUX is activated although no sound comes through the system. Do i need to do a VAG-Com on this ? everything else has worked without coding.

    Anyone got any suggestions?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 25, 2010]
    The wires for the Aux in on the RNSe are in the 32 pin AV connector, you'll need to buy one (1J0 972 977G) You'll have to remove the aux wires from the quadlock and insert them into the AV connector. Cross check the wiring diagrams on the two units to see what goes where.

    If you have BOSE you should also move the BOSE pin, but don't worry if you haven't. I'd also check the unit is coded to suit the options in your car, but that's your call.

    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 25, 2010]
    If you find you suffer from degraded FM reception (the RNSe uses a different antenna system to the unit supplied in your car) you can follow my guide and replace the antenna amps in the boot lid. You may or may not suffer from this issue, it all depends on the reception in your area. If you stick with your current antenna system you will see a ZF short to ground error if you run a VCDS scan.

    Hope this helps.
    #3
  5. JCMCN
    Offline

    JCMCN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 25, 2010]
    JohnS3. So far no degraded signals. Do you think I would get a better sound quality from an mp3 file on the SD card rather than the iPod AUX? Do you know if it is possible to convert the music files from iTunes into mp3? if so , how? cheers in advance
    #4
  6. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    I've just had my RNS-E sorted to get my aux-in working again. I don't notice a difference between the aux-in and the ipod adaptor in the glovebox (if that's any help at all!)

    Easiest way (IMHO) to convert stuff from itunes into mp3 is to burn the album/tracks onto a cd, and then use something like Windows Media Player (or one of the millions of other pieces of software) to rip the files from the cd.

    Chris
    #5
  7. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Thats what i do...no problems.

    I'm interested in this areal in the tailgate upgrade as my reception in a 2004 car is not at all good.
    #6
  8. royjk
    Offline

    royjk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Was the RNS-E the old 2G or the new 3G that you bought from ebay. As I am looking for the new 3G unit to replace my 2G.
    #7
  9. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    The amp fix only applies to 2007 and later cars. Your car should already have the correct system fitted. Have you checked all the wiring? Any VCDS errors showing? Or perhaps one of your amps has condensation damage...
    #8
  10. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Your music may already be in mp3 fomat if you ripped your own CDs. If you buy them from the itunes store they will be aac encoded with copyright protection too. There are ways to get around that though.
    #9
  11. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Cheers john,
    My reception problem is with the RNSE, its perfect with the Symphony II, i swaped back to check. Its not bad it just keeps getting loud and then quiet. I know its reception because it does it in the same places every day on the commute. interestingly it does it to within a few yards each day..!!
    #10
  12. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    On my 2008, I recently did JohnS3's upgrade (bought the parts while I was over in England last month, and saved about 65% over buying them over here).

    I don't notice a particular reception difference, but then I have what seems like about a hundred FM stations (probably about forty in reality) all local, with strong signals!

    The big thing I see now is that the ZF short-to-ground error on VAG-com scans is now gone.

    Basically, if you have the quadlock on your old radio which makes it a straight plug-n-play when you switch to RNS-E, then you almost certainly have the NEWER antenna diversity system... RNS-E's need to use the OLDER antenna diversity system for best operation.

    If you had to use a conversion harness (ISO connectors to single Quadlock connector) then you already have the older diversity system, and you don't need to do the rear tailgate amplifier mods.

    MAJOR thanks to JohnS3 for working it all out for everyone! :)

    Keith
    #11
  13. wesley
    Offline

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Its not the gamma setting is it paddy, that decreses the volume of the stereo as you slow down?
    #12
  14. crazylegscrane
    Offline

    crazylegscrane Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    RNS-e units turn the volume up as the cabin noise level increases and down as it decreases, could this be what you are experiencing?
    #13
  15. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Well i suppose it could be guys.....every time it goes quiet i turn the thing up...and then it will suddenly turn its self up as well further down the road....Thanks god for MF steering wheels...its a constant battle to keep it at a listenable volume :)
    #14
  16. wesley
    Offline

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Turn it completely off in the settings mate!
    #15
  17. crazylegscrane
    Offline

    crazylegscrane Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Couldn't work this out at first when I fitted my RNS-e, I was constantly at the volume as well but you do get used to it!
    #16
  18. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Mar 26, 2010]
    Glad its not just me Crazy :)
    #17

Share This Page