1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-E. straight in plug and play?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Moffat, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. Moffat
    Offline

    Moffat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jun 29, 2014]
    My S3 has the concert head unit, but I've always liked the RNS-E nav unit, primarily for the fact of putting music onto an SD card to save on the amount of CDs lying about, but also as it has NAV, and it looks good.
    Looking on ebay, they're readily available, with the GPS antenna.
    How much of a plug and play process is it to fit, or would it need coed to work? (i'm guessing VCDS?)
    Would the antenna have to go in a specific place, like up in the head lining or something, or would just being left behind the dash work?
    And would the phone option just start working, or is there a lot more to it that that?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. pburv
    Offline

    pburv Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 29, 2014]
    Hi Moffat. I hope I can answer a few of your questions..If you already have a double din sized stereo in your car the nav unit will go straight in.You will need specific quad connector to plug the nav unit in.I,m afraid you will have to get the unit coded to work with your car.As for the antenna it could simply go behind your glove box and stick it on the underside of your dash.I done this conversion on a A4 a few years back it was not that hard(I,m a total novice with car electrics) .Good luck mate.
    #2
  4. hendry10
    Offline

    hendry10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Jun 29, 2014]
    You'll also need to reposition pins in the quadlock . And if you had Bluetooth fone b4 with the concert then will be ok with rnse
    #3
  5. RobbieWebs
    Offline

    RobbieWebs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    189
    [Jun 29, 2014]
    RNSE looks the part and finishes off the centre console/ dash in my opinion.
    Sd cards Deffo make it worth it.
    As for the Nav, pretty naff in my opinion.
    Needs coded with Vcds and wheel size etc for nav.
    Antenna behind glove box or stick it above the RNSE, works fine there.
    Bluetooth will have to be coded and if u have Bose this needs a few pins moved. :)
    #4
  6. Dan-Jnr
    Offline

    Dan-Jnr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    151
    [Jun 29, 2014]
    The nav is pretty good to be fair, it can be awkward putting addresses in but once there in memory it's very quick to recall them.
    #5
  7. Moffat
    Offline

    Moffat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jul 4, 2014]
    Are there better RNSE units than others? I've seen in posts, people asking if it's a unit with a media button, or a CD/TV button.
    I do have BOSE. Is there a guide for the changing of pins in the connectors?
    I have a friend with VCDS so coding one isn't an issue. I'm guessing you just need to use the radio code supplied, and put it into the system using the software?
    And I think I read something about the aerial connector/adaptor needing changed?
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2014
    #6
  8. nluk100
    Online

    nluk100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 5, 2014]
    Quadlock.jpg

    Although some have left the pin disconnected to remove the Bose restrictions on bass & treble.
    #7
  9. Moffat
    Offline

    Moffat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jul 5, 2014]
    I've read about removing it for restriction purposes. Otherwise, it would need changed from pin 5 to pin 7?
    #8
  10. russwuss
    Offline

    russwuss Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    71
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    Sorry for hijacking.. if I don't have bose but a concert head unit is it straight plug and play (except VCDS coding of course)...
    #9
  11. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jul 10, 2014]
    You mention you need to get the unit coded to the car, why do you need to do this? I changed my single din concert II to a double din with an RNSE, didn't code it, am I missing something?
    #10
  12. Arkious
    Offline

    Arkious Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 10, 2014]
    I have just fitted my RNS-E instead of the Concert III and i have bose, but i didn't move any pins and it seems to be working OK.

    Sound quality is bang on, however i did notice that when playing capital radio the volume was increasing and decreasing, is this what happens when you don't move the pin?

    Also i can't seem to get the RNS-E to find any satelites with the antenna that came with it. The pin fits correctly in the unit but doesn't fit the little cream 2 pin plug. I don't quite understand what I'm supposed to do with the antenna as i have 2 pins that were already there, plus the new antenna pin.

    Finally, i have XCARLINK installed but i can't use it as i don't think the CD changer is enabled. Can i do this without VCDS?

    Cheers!
    #11
  13. Arkious
    Offline

    Arkious Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 10, 2014]
    Ok, Managed to get the antenna and XCARLINK to work, it was just a bad ground and the antenna wasn't plugged in properly.

    I still have varying sound volumes and crackling and popping.

    Ive moved the Bose pin from 3 to 7 now too, but looking above are you saying that if the quad lock is fitted as standard it needs to go from 5 to 7 and not 3 to 7? as i wonder if thats what is causing it?
    #12
  14. Arkious
    Offline

    Arkious Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 10, 2014]
    OK, tried moving the the pins back and then moving 5-7, this seems to have cured the interference.

    However it still has terrible volume increasing and decreasing issues. you can be listening to music flawlessly and then it will just drive the volume and bass up massively then back down to almost nothing before going back to normal.

    It also makes an odd interference noise when the welcome light comes on and off before making a large pop when the RNS-E shuts off completely

    Please help
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
    #13
  15. Arkious
    Offline

    Arkious Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 11, 2014]
    still not managed to figure it out. could it be down to the fact i haven't yet coded it as I'm waiting for my VCDS to turn up.

    just wouldn't have thought coding would have caused an issue like that?
    #14

Share This Page