1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rns-e software issue- No version displayed!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Tdp, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. Tdp
    Offline

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, newb here :yes:
    I recently fitted my a3 with the rns-e unit and I'm very impressed with it,
    however when I try to see what version of software I'm running all I see is: X__
    is this normal as the unit is running perfectly?
    any advice would be great
    thanks
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Welcome to the forum.

    That rns has been hacked probably to change the pin code for it, so potentially stolen.
    #2
  3. Tdp
    Offline

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply,
    It was purchased off eBay from a seller that has various rns-e units for sale and the business seems reputable?
    Is there anyway around this hack as it sounds a little 'rogue' to me?
    cheers
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yeah you'd need older firmware dvd & latest, plus vcds to fix that.
    #4
  5. Tdp
    Offline

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can I get these Dvd's from? I have access to vcds luckily :happy:
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Ebay is a good start for a genuine older version, then use your current to update it again.
    #6
  7. Tdp
    Offline

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great! Thanks very much for your advice :yes:
    where would vcds be required?
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    To put the rns in downgrade mode.
    #8
  9. Tdp
    Offline

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok, sounds rather confusing
    #9
  10. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    95
    If that's the case, won't the PIN be void if you change the firmware?:think:
    #10

Share This Page